Is P3 really faster, if so, why?

Reaction score
I'm an experienced P2 pilot reading posts on the P3. Some say the P3 is much faster, I don't have a need for speed, I am just technically interested in knowing how the P3 can be faster. While the P3 has lots of features over the P2, when it comes to speed, I would expect the P2 and P3 to be similar.

If the P3 is much fast, what exactly makes the P3 faster, motors, props, voltage?

I had a P2 until I upgraded to P3. It seems much faster, but I've checked the respective specs and they give the lie to that impression. Maybe it's the fact that the P3 has such an increased range that we can and therefore want to fly it further, so we tend to fly it faster.

I have no data to share, but if it is faster that means you can tilt it forward more and give more throttle = faster. Compared to a quad using DJI Naza M controller (same/similar to Phantom controller) the Phantoms are very "dumbed down". The (excess?) amount of built in stability in the Phantom is in the software of the Phantom controller and thus keeps one from really digging in on the controls. Also remember GPS mode is the most sluggish and ATTI will help speed things up a bit... and well, if you ever could get into full manual hold onto your hats!

I have both. The p3 Is faster, I am sure. It can easily keep up with a vehicle doing 50km. It certainly jumps of the ground quicker. More volts, different motors.

It does seem to have a lot more power. To the extent it can be twitchy to fly in Atti Mode.

It does seem to have a lot more power. To the extent it can be twitchy to fly in Atti Mode.
That is partly why I turned the braking down - it's reaction to releasing the stick is a bit OTT. Even releasing stick pressure slightly makes it attempt to imediately change the speed, hence the twitchyness.