Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is it safe to Fly P3 in Kiev Ukraine

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Reuben, Nov 22, 2015.

  1. Reuben

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey guys I'm going to Kiev< Ukraine next week for a business trip and was wondering if it is legal to fly my P3 in the city of Kiev. Just dont wanna take it all the way there for nothing. I have done loads of online searches but cannot come up with an answer! Loads of articles about the military flying these DJI drones but nothing definitive if its legal to fly for a civilian. Also my concern is will the bird be safe or risk being shot down?

    Thanks for your advise!

    Reuben
     
  2. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
  3. stevenc93

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    I bought my P3 in B&H New York on vacation from Scotland. The guy who served me asked if I was sure I could fly it back home in Scotland as he had heard someone from Russia bought one and had problems with gps etc over there.

    Don't take my word for it but definitely try and get a solid answer.

    Steven.
     
  4. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Russia has a different GPS system (GLONASS- Globalnaya Navigazionnaya Sputnikovaya Sistema, or Global Navigation Satellite System), only the P3A/P can take advantage of it. Maybe thats why?
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    3,449
    The G in GPS stands for Global.
    GPS works all over the world - not just in some locations.
    Russia's GLONASS is also global.
     
    afx and LuvMyTJ like this.
  6. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I assumed that but I wondered if US GPS in Russia was blocked or degraded in some way.
    Wonder why someone would have issues there, unless it was a problem that would of affected that Phantom where ever it was located.
     
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,651
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    P3A/P senses US satelites as well GLONAS. Thats why we get GPS locking to 15 satelites and get good accuracy. Without GLONASS, we would get locking to 4 -5 only and chances of losing position are very high.
     
  8. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    GPS should not be that low unless there is some issue with the quad. My P2 gets 8 - 12 always with no GLONASS.
    I believe the DJI manual states not to take of with less than 6.
     
    Meta4 likes this.
  9. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    Pretty sure its a myth.

    GLONASS is Russian sats.
     
    Meta4 likes this.
  10. Reuben

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    While we are on the subject I was also going to attempt flying it in chernobyl where the nuclear disaster happened. There is a video of a US guy that did such thing obviously with permission. My question is will the nuclear radiation exposure affect the long term reliability of my P3P.
     
  11. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,119
    Likes Received:
    1,651
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    We are not nuclear scientist. :)
     
  12. Reuben

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
  13. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Oooo, that sounds like an exciting project. Why don't you try flying the bird around the nuclear reactor number 4 for about half an hour and bring it back. If it glows green in the dark, then you know :D:D:D
     
  14. Reuben

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Haha good one glow in the dark P3P. Anyway I have decided to take it with me to Kiev. Currently on the flight about to take off so there is no turning back
     
  15. Drone.UA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take your drone with you; there are no problems to fly it in Ukraine. Of course, there are some limitations and you cannot just fly in such places as Chernobyl, you need to have authorization to do it. We have done it many times.

    You can not fly higher than 300 m and you need to stay 7km away from airports. This is in general.


    If you will have any questions - just text to our office, we will help info@drone.ua
     
  16. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Please post your video when you get back. Love to see aerial video of Chernobyl. With a bit of video editing i.e dulling the colour or make it black-and-white, it may even looks creepy ;)
     
  17. Drone.UA

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    this video was made in Chernobyl btw
     
  18. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    A few slow circles around the perimeter of a nuclear reactor melt down and you may never have to charge your intelligent flight battery again. ;-)
    image.jpeg
    There's a much better drone for that.

    RedHotPoker