Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is it possible to take photos with GoPro camera?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by mbx005, Mar 16, 2014.

  1. mbx005

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    Hi Guys,

    Would like to know if it is possible to take photos with go pro camera from the air. If yes than pls let me know how?
     
  2. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    Set the Gopro to take stills every x seconds. You can also set it to take video and stills at the same time depending on the resolution and frame rate you have selected.
     
  3. mbx005

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    Thanks for your quick reply.

    Is it possible somehow to start taking photos "manually" from the air? I mean take picture with a button from the remote control.
     
  4. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    It is not recommended to use the remote. The Gopro wifi MUST be off when you fly otherwise it can interfere with the Phantoms control.

    Setting the Gopro to take a photo every x seconds is the only safe way I know if doing it.
     
  5. UFOwithaGoPro

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
  6. mbx005

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
  7. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    no solution for the gopro. the connection doesn't allow you to control the shutter/settings, only to charge and view the video. On larger dslr cameras the connection works differently. The problem lies more on gopro than on dji. The other issue is that you would need an additional channel on your radio to control the shutter. The best solution is to set it to take a photo once every some odd seconds (your choice, I like 5 seconds) and then just line up your shot and count to 5 and repeat. If you want the ability to do a photo burst (say for example you are catching a snowboarder at the apex of his jump) you can set your footage to a higher frames per second and grab a still from that.

    if you want the ability to do point and click pictures, then you can fly the vision. If you want HD video with photos every 5 seconds, you can fly the P2.
     
  8. mbx005

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    Thanks for everyone, it is clear now :)
     
  9. Tmesis

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can we make this sticky? This comes up too often from people who won't search.
     
  10. mbx005

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Debrecen, Hungary
    of course :)