Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is it possible to Fly in no-fly restricted area?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Kenneth Gundersen, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. Kenneth Gundersen

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Terneveien 5, Lyngdal, Norway
    I'm at old airport. No activity but still marked as an airport. I'm on the field now but not allowed for takeoff. I have contacted the airport managers and was allowed to fly, but my P3 dont take the risk
     
  2. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    cover the top of the bird with silver foil (the bit in the middle) fly in atti mode
     
  3. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Be safe and not sorry. Find another location to fly. Flying with out GPS or home lock could lead to an accidental fly a way. Even though you go to the manual mode you Ned the safety of all functions just my two cents. Your Failsafe is you safety for getting her back. Without GPS who knows where she'll go if she gets away. Bye bye $$$$ Phantom.
     
    acherman likes this.
  4. Khador

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Merseyside, UK
    If the runway has been demolished and its no longer classified as an airport you should be able to demonstrate this to DJI. In which case raise a call with them and they may take the no fly zone away after investigation.
     
  5. gravity

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have this same issue. The airport no longer exists, and has been sold to the town to use as residential land. There is an old crumbling runway that is clearly not used anymore. I've had zero luck contacting DJI.
     
    Kenneth Gundersen likes this.
  6. glataif

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Will foil really prevent Home Lock?
     
  7. glataif

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    You could also revert software to a version before the no-fly zone...:):):):):):):):):)
     
  8. acherman

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Just placing my hand over the top of my P3 causes it to lose GPS and go into ATTI mode. Foil will work fine for the flight. But yah, RTH won't work at all if it doesn't know where home or itself are.
     
  9. blue_goose

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    6
    DJI didn't make these no fly zones. Every airport has an marker on even road maps. If the FAA says it's an airport it is on the map. That doesn't mean the FAA keep this up to date. If you look at your car GPS you will find the same airports.
     
  10. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    if you put foil on top of your phantom make sure you have a tracker on it.
     
  11. acherman

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    So DJI only puts American airports on the list? We have 3 very small airports within 50 km of where I live (Canada) and none of them show up as such on the DJI app.