Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

is it fully compatible with my phantom

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by geckodrop, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. geckodrop

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I don't understand something :
    Notice: NAZA-M V1 and Phantom users need the PMU of NAZA-M V2.

    Can someone explain that to me

    thank you
     
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    I take it you're referring to the Zenmuse Gimbal..

    Yes,. it's compatible with your older Phantom or an other system running NAZA-M v1.
    BUT, you need to spend an additional $69 to purchase a PMU module so that it will work.
     
  3. jpz

    jpz

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do I know if my phantom is V1 or V2? (without opening) :roll:
     
  4. Yeager

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    All stock Phantoms use the NAZA-M V1 flight control system. Not sure about the Phantom Vision (New as yet to be released product), but if you have a plain old (lol ... old by months) Phantom, it uses a NAZA-M V1. NAZA-M V2 is a new product.

    -Y
     
  5. Adam

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    18
    UAVProducts has the PMU V2 for $65 shipped free. Got mine yesterday. Now just need the gimbal to ship!
     
  6. Camzilla

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm confused! If I attach the Zenmuse gimbal to the Phantom WITHOUT the PMU-V2, does it work at all or does it just prevent manual pitch control?

    And if it's unusable without the PMU-V2, why is it described as "Plug & Play" when the PMU requires soldering for connection?

    Can anyone assist please?

    Thanks!
     
  7. Ali in Austria

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    May be they should of used the term "solder and play".

    DJI's interpretation of the meaning would appear to be that once it is installed it will play without the need to set it up by tweaking parameters.
     
  8. Camzilla

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, I'd agree with that...

    So any thoughts re the first part of the question?

    Thanks.
     
  9. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    The answer is : You cannot.

    The Zenmuse gimbal comes with its own control module, which plugs into the Can-bus system of the PMU V2 for communication with the Naza M controller.

    Sorry, but you have to spend the extra $65.
     
  10. Camzilla

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disappointing but that's what I suspected. Better start practicing my soldering skills...

    Thanks!