Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iPad

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Jeff watson, Jun 18, 2016.

  1. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    I want to use my iPad to fly a DJI Phantom, but it won't connect to my aircraft. What do I need to do to accomplish this?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Not A Speck Of Cereal

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    145
    What model is it?
    Is it on the DJI approved list of devices?
    Have you loaded the DJI Go app to it from the iTunes store?
    Do you have the owners manual that the Phantom came with?
     
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    If you have mini 2 and above, you should not have any issue with DJI go app because of iPad. There are many other things that should be taken into account. Give us more details what hardware you have and what DJI SW and FW versions you have currently on your iPad, RC and AC
     
  4. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    I just downloaded the latest DJI Go App. and updated the aircraft, batteries and controller. I can connect with my iPhone, but wanted a bigger view area, so I tried, with no luck to connect my iPad. Model MC705Ll/A. Running 8.1.1


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    Using the iPhone now. I get GPS and 12 satellites. Connect with iPad and get GPS N/A and no satellites. Checking maps on iPad, I get directions. Could I have something turned off in the settings on th iPad?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. impilot51

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    147
    Don't believe it's supported. The A5x cup is 32 bit. I think all the supported iPads are 64bit.

    I checked DJIs site. Your model iPad is not supported.

    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    I should tell you, this is not a mini. I saw a tutorial the other day, where they were showing how to secure an iPad to a controller. Then they showed it in use. The manual that came with my Phantom simply says to connect the tablet or smart phone to the USB on controller. My iPad is probably 6 years old.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. impilot51

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    147
    Yep, full size iPad. But too old and too slow.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    Found another full size iPad in the house. Uses the same connector as the new iPhone6. I'll charge it and see.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. impilot51

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    147
    Google the model number for specs. Get the CPU number. Then google that CPU looking for 32 or 64 bit. If 32, not supported. If 64, will probably work.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. Jeff watson

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    This iPad connects. Makes a huge difference! Lots more control! Thanks!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Wheatfield

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    I think your iPad is too old to be supported by DJI. Might be a good excuse to upgrade.