Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iPad Mini 2.....what (if anything) do I lose by not having cellular?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by allentc2, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. allentc2

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Cross Lanes, WV
    I confess, I am about as smart as a sack of doorknobs when it comes to cell phones.

    I see the iPad Mini 2 is listed as "recommended" when it comes to the P3A. What I do not get is what functionality do I lose if I do not have an iPad on a cellular plan? I've ordered a 16GB Mini 2, but it's WiFi only.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Fourblade

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Warwickshire UK
    I have an iPad air 1 WiFi which I wasn't using much. I had been using my iPhone 5S with my Phantom 2 Vision Plus but seeing that the holder on the P3 handles an iPad I'm going to use that. I really won't be flying other than LOS and I have never needed to use DHP so cache your maps beforehand either on WiFi or by tethering to your phone and you'll be good to go - and save some money!
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    You won't be able to use any of the features that require an Internet connection. For example, streaming to YouTube and displaying the map of your current location. The latter can be resolved by caching the maps while connected to the Internet, so it's not a big deal unless you forget to do it and you go flying in a new location.
     
  4. allentc2

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Cross Lanes, WV
    Okay, so in short....I lose nothing. At least nothing once I learn how to cache a map. LOL
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    allentc2, to cache the map, just move around in the map that displays at the bottom, right corner of the DJI Pilot app. It'll be easier to do if you tap the map to enlarge it. As you move around to new locations on the map, the map tiles will be loaded and cached (saved locally) on your mobile device. Just make sure you move to all map locations where your Phantom will be flying.
     
  6. allentc2

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Cross Lanes, WV
    Okay, I think I get it. Having cellular reception allows the app to know where it is, and thereby display the proper map. Or something along those lines, right?
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    No. The cellular reception allows your mobile device to connect to the Internet -- which is required to download the map images. GPS is used to track your Phantom's location.
     
  8. DrChris

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Is the GPS important on the tablet apart from the cellular features? iPad's that are WiFi only don't have the GPS, but cellular ones do.

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    GPS will probably only be needed if you're using software that includes a dynamic home point and/or follow me feature.
     
  10. Kingfish28

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    84
    I personally would want the GPS to be available for future needs, or software functions.
     
  11. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    You can always turn on your phone's 'hot spot' and use that as a wifi connection for your ipad mini, that's what I plan to do.
     
    dysan911 likes this.
  12. allentc2

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Cross Lanes, WV
    If I'm not mistaken, ATT charges in order to let your phone work as a hotspot.

    I talked at length with an ATT rep about getting an iPad added to my plan, but it was just too expensive. I'm exploring options now. Still not sure it'd be worth the additional cost. I'll just wait till it's time to change plans then maybe move into a Mini 3 with cellular.
     
  13. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    Verizon doesn't charge to hotspot if you have the more everything plan.
     
  14. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    I have Verizon with 30GB all everything plan so hot spotting is included.
     
  15. DrChris

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    They used to charge an extra fee for the hot spot, but have changed so you just use your data from your data plan. There is no additional charge now. It's great for quick uses when you're out of WiFi range.

    Back to the current subject: I would actually not use the cellular data and use my phone as a hot spot if needed but I'm still torn about the GPS. Can any one elaborate on software that may be available for Inspire now that would benefit from the tablet having GPS?

    Another possible solution for me would be to go with a WiFi iPad and fall back to my iPhone if there is an app that comes along that really needs GPS (i.e. follow me, etc).

    Thoughts?
    Chris
     
    Alex Kiritsis likes this.
  16. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    There is no software available for the Inspire/P3 other than the stock app because the SDK isn't available to the general public yet (though rumor has it that a select few developers have it already). Once it is, expect a handful of apps that will add features and will require your device to have GPS. Just get the GPS. It's a drop in the bucket compared to how much you've already spent! :)
     
  17. Alex Kiritsis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    32
    I still have unlimited data with ATT, because of this they won't let me hotspot unless I switch to a capped data plan! It doesn't matter. I will be doing the same as u. Wifi iPad mini on the regular and iPhone 6 plus for any GPS or internet uses. The iphone 6's screen has the same coating as the iPad Air 2 and hear it does very well in the sun.
     
  18. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Could you not tether your iPad (without GSM) to a phone with gsm to get the map data ?
     
  19. crc2004

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't need cellular service or even a sim card in your iPad to use the GPS but it does need to be a cellular capable iPad because the wifi only iPads don't have GPSs.
     
  20. BRENTHABBESHAW

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    27
    How do you connect to the internet out in the middle of nowhere? I thought wifi was what connected to the internet, forgive me, as I am not a iphone/tab expert.