Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iPad Ground Station

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by smatty2023, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. smatty2023

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the ground station hardware compatible with the P2V?.
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    No. Wait for the P2V to get the previously announced firmware and app upgrade in order to get ground station-like capabilities. Although it's been due since end of January...
     
  3. smatty2023

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah ok I see on Facebook they have announced it is tried and tested with a release in two weeks time. So will it be extra hardware or are they going to tweak existing, do you know?.
     
  4. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Announcement was for the P2 version. Different main board, different kettle of fish. We already have a 2 way data link built into ours...
     
  5. smatty2023

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah right ok I'll sit tight for for the updates than. Thanks
     
  6. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    No probs, I'm just concerned that someone in DJI PR has slipped up and in a question response on FB said "P2 and Vision..." - if people take that as gospel there'll be loads of very pee'd off people buying Bluetooth Units and finding no CAN bus on their Vision to put it into, with a free update coming to give the functionality anyway. I've asked a DJI Support Rep to get confirmation from China about this.

    The Vision will have the advantage of being able to support iDevices and Android, too - standard Ground Station is only available on iPad if you want to run it on a portable device...
     
  7. smatty2023

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so how will it work with the vision, are we going to be able to set waypoints?. I'm assuming if it's through the app then we can also use the ipad the same as the work station.
     
  8. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    We don't know exactly. Ask we have to go on is the screenshot of a phone app that accompanied the press release.
     
  9. smatty2023

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok no probs I'll sit tight and wait for the release, can't be any longer than waiting for my rotorpixel shipment notification. :shock:
     
  10. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Ha! Remember the waiver? "I understand good things come to those that wait"? I remember agreeing to that one for Rotorpixel, not so sure I agreed to anything similar for DJI... ;)
     
  11. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Vision is DJI's first quad w/camera and bidirectional data & control link over IP as well as a dedicated control link over radio. The radio gives us 1:1 real time control & response. The IP link has variable latency which can be as good as a few tenths of a second to several seconds depending upon QOS and the number of requests to resend lost packets. When programming waypoints on your iDevice before takeoff (or changing & updating them during flight) latency isn't an issue.

    Whether or not we'll be permitted to interrupt GS to "takeover" flight control by radio is as yet unconfirmed, although my guess would be this will be implemented to facilitate pilot control for reasons of safety & landing control.

    Have a look here: http://phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8003&p=76629#p76629

    iDrone
     
  12. smatty2023

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's great iDrone thanks I'll take a look. So am I right in thinking this isn't available yet for P2V
     
  13. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    <bangs head against desk>
     
  14. smatty2023

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why am I being a bit slow?
     
  15. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    No, it was just me having a moment. Nothing's available for the Vision until we get a firmware and app update. As usual when firmware releases happen this place will go nuts so you'll find out soon enough! :)
     
  16. smatty2023

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol yes very true the rotorpixel thread is testament to that.
     
  17. pault

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Yesterday DJI tweeted that the GS was still undergoing compliance testing and was due very soon. Again it just mentioned the P2 and also used a picture of a P2. No mention of the Vision. Are we sure it is being released for both platforms ?
     
  18. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    <bangs head against desk again>

    I've been trying to tell people it is nothing to do with the vision. If and when we get it it will be via our app and a firmware upgrade as per the DJI initial release.
     
  19. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Phantom 2 Vision will capture Adobe DNG RAW and provide Ground Station capabilities!

    December 04 2013

    We are very excited to announce that with a firmware update, the Phantom 2 Vision will be able to capture and store pictures in Adobe DNG RAW format in-camera. The update will be released in late December.

    Additionally, a separate firmware and mobile phone App update will be released providing the Phantom 2 Vision with Ground Station capabilities including waypoint editing and autonomous waypoint navigation. The update will be released around the end of December or early January.



    http://www.dji.com/info/news/phanto...g-raw-and-provide-ground-station-capabilities

    (Hopefully to be released in the next 7-14 days)
    iDrone :ugeek:
     

    Attached Files:

  20. pault

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    So, two months late - that is even worse than Rotorpixel !