Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ipad / datalink / tilt gimbal function?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by halfpipe, Mar 16, 2014.

  1. halfpipe

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Atlantic Coast Canada
    Will the ground station software running on ipad have the ability to tilt the zenmuse gimbal?
     
  2. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    great question. I don't remember seeing it as on option on the iPad screen but you still need to have the controller fired up and running so I would think you could still tilt it off your controller.
     
  3. davemcm

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Scotland
    I seem to remember seeing something about those channels on the laptop ground station software, but not the iPad.

    I'll have a look next time weather permits and report back.
     
  4. halfpipe

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Atlantic Coast Canada
    Just days before I became aware of the existance of datalink and all , I had purchased a futaba T8 Channel explicitly to tilt the gimbal but if it's redundant due to ipad functionality, I would return the radio and use the funds more effeciently
     
  5. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    you could have just added the gimbal tilt lever for a few bucks instead of buying the futaba......
     
  6. halfpipe

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Atlantic Coast Canada
    yeah but I've been reading that the hack isn't entirely bullet proof with the lever falling out and generally just in the way.
    Now I have to stuff a pmu and a gcu unit in there and the futaba tx is bigish as well. I figured the futaba might enable a stronger 2,4 signal than stock