iPad Air 2 cellular vs iPad Air 2 wifi for DJI Pilot flying Phantom 3

Reaction score
I recently bought a Phantom 3 Advanced.
I am a photographer and I find flying it and taking photos with it to be a joy.
I have been using an iPhone 5s with DJI pilot.

In order to have a bigger screen I am looking at getting an iPad Air 2.
It has a faster CPU and more RAM (2gb vs 1 gb) than the other iPads.
(Android fans, I know most Android tablets have GPS. I'm used to Apple products and I can afford the higher price)

I am debating whether to get the cellular model.
I understand that the wifi model doesn't have GPS.
So with the wifi model, is true that maps won't show up?

If I use my iPhone as a wifi hot spot, could I get maps on the iPad Air 2 wifi unit?

Also, I am wondering if I should get the 16gb or the 64gb model.

I don't plan to keep too many apps or photos or music on this iPad, but it seems like you always find a use for more storage.

It gets down to money, cellular with 64gb is $729 new and 16gb wifi is $499. There is always the Apple refurb store with prices at $609 and $419.

I am looking to get input from real world users who are using DJI Pilot with a Phantom 3 and an iPad Air 2.

Does not having GPS pose an issue, if wifi connected to a phone?
Would you recommend 64gb over 16gb?

You can still get maps with the WiFi only version either by pre-caching them or by tethering to your phone. The latter had the possibility of interfering with your video link. The only functionality you lose is setting a new home point at your current position and other future applications like follow me.

I think you have a typo in the prices. The difference between the WiFi and cellular versions is only $130. For that price difference I decided to go with cellular myself.

When you set the iPhone as a hot spot it shares the GPS location to the iPad as well. I do this all the time w/iPhone 5s and iPad Air WiFi. It works perfectly and I can even live stream to youtube as well.