Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iPad Air 2 barometer broke with iOS 10.0.2

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GMack, Oct 12, 2016.

  1. GMack

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    243
  2. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,943
    Likes Received:
    4,502
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Your best bet is to downgrade to iOS 9.3.5 before the signing window closes.
     
  3. GMack

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    243
    Doing it now.

    I have the 'fantastic' AT&T DSL and it will finish the version 9.3.5 download in 4 hours - maybe. Maybe their servers are overloaded with rollback downloads, but I suspect it is AT&T being typically slow, or about 3 times faster than AOL dialup.
     
  4. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    New Orleans
    I keep getting the nag screen to update my iPhone and iPad and so far I've resisted.
     
  5. GMack

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    243
    Well, that was certainly a PITA to roll back!

    Got rid of 10 and now back to 9.3.5 and the barometer is again working with correct altitude reported. It required so many passwords, credit card entries, disable this and enable that, Unfind my iPhone (iPad), and uninstall of Wi-Fi router and reinstall to get the **** WEP Key to take, and trying to find the slight differences in iTunes versions as well to allow a roll back/restore. Now I have one barometer (test) app that refuses to uninstall too even from iTunes or the iPad (Magenta colored free one.).

    But least it is going again. So much for 10.0.0, 10.0.1, and 10.0.2. Com'on Apple you can do better than this! Trying to compete with the Windows 10 Anniversary Edition foul-up that I also had to remove?
     
  6. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    213
    What app isn't working?

    I'm using 10.0.2 and my Altimeter app is working fine?

    SB
     
  7. GMack

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    243
    First link above is the Inspire 1 forum where it became known that Autopilot wasn't working right as it uses the barometer in the iDevices that have it. Some might be working, although they didn't mention having Autopilot, but mine wasn't working either. Didn't see Litchi in the list or if it uses the iDevices barometer.

    There is a freeware app (Apple store > Barometer) that has a silver icon with hPa on it. It used to report pressure and altitude on mine, but since 10.0.2 it launches with a red screen saying "iPad Air 2 req." and no pressure or altitude is shown. It might have worked with 10.0.0 or maybe 10.0.1, but definitely not in 10.0.2 and I'm not chancing it with Autopilot as it might report a funky altitude or none at all. There was another freeware barometer app in the store which showed no warning as the hPa app did, but it reported a bad altimeter number and reported the altitude as 0.0 feet where it is 362 feet.

    I'll wait on 10.0.3 or until I see it working better, I just have to put up with the constant nag screens for 10 now. Least now it works again since I went back to 9.3.5 just that I wished the rollback would have gone smoother without all the password stuff for almost anything on the device.
     
  8. Hangar

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    137
    To be clear, this is only critical for Moving Operator use cases where you intend to change altitude and the aircraft is following you.
     
  9. macwylie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I was wondering what good does the barometer due when it's in the iPad not the drone?
     
  10. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,943
    Likes Received:
    4,502
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    There is in fact a barometer in the drone. That is how it knows it's height.
     
  11. macwylie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then what does it matter if theres one in the iPad? There's no velocity gauge in the iPad or and other tracking parameter and the drone can pass on the initial altitude before it takes off. My whole point is, is it really necessary or beneficial to have the barometer in the iPad or iPhone because the iPad mini 2's are cheap but I also question the computational power as well. I'm getting tired of my phone screen. Thanks.
     
  12. Hangar

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    137
    It matters if you want to use follow mode and have the drone maintain accurate, relative altitude to your position.
     
    macwylie and LuvMyTJ like this.
  13. macwylie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I understand. Thank you.
     
Loading...