Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

IOC

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Larry S, Apr 27, 2013.

  1. Larry S

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't get my quad into IOC mode. When I try to check the IOC box it won't let me. Then at the bottom left it says GPS NEEDED
     
  2. auck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    make sure your transmitter is on and in GPS mode
     
  3. Larry S

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    are the led's blinking to confirm no gps signals being found ?

    You may have to remove the top shell, and verify the cable is plugged into the Naza controller.
    Also, the compass plugs into the gps module at the top of the shell, make certain both compass ends are secure.

    If you still get the error, either take it back to your dealer, if it's new, and you can wait for a replacement, or
    purchase a new gps unit.
     
  5. Larry S

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Audaciter,,when I plug it upto the computer and flip the switch to GPS. It still says altitude mode. It's like it doesn't recognize GPS. If I look at the wires how will I know where it is suppose to plug into. Thanks for the help
     
  6. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    When you take the top shell off, be careful as the gps wires are short. The gps module is at the top of the shell, covered
    with a grey foam EMI shielding material, Do not remove this material.
    The wires from the gps will plug into the port marked "EXP" on the Naza controller.

    All the diagrams, etc can be found on the DJI website. Just find Phantom in the product section, then navigate to downloads,
    and you will see the available manuals, and software for your Phantom.

    The Phantom is nothing more than a dressed up DJI Flame Wheel 330. I even found FW330 on my esc's.

    Hope it's just unplugged, as a gps module is around $150.

    Have you tried connecting to the Naza Assistant software, and see if there are errors ? You might try doing that,
    and do an advanced calibration, even if it says you don't need to.

    P.S Errors will show up at the bottom of the screen.

    Afterwards, reboot and check your switch again, before disassembly.
     
  7. djalpha

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Have you crashed it or gotten it wet ?
     
  9. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    This thread is well over a year old, not sure why it was dug up in the first place ;)