IOC Logic Help Please

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a newbie with half a dozen flights or so and I'm trying to understand how the IOC actually works in practice.

It seems to me that with the HL engaged, the Phantom actually behaves like CL until it is beyond 30 feet. Then you have to reengage HL by cycling the IOC switch to get HL to function as described. When returning to home from beyond 30 ft by pulling back on the stick, the Phantom stops at the the home point and then switches into CL mode and zooms away in accordance with the CL rules unless I center the stick. I then have to fly beyond 30 feet to reengage the HL by cycling the IOC switch. Is this correct?

Next, I stopped the rotors (but left the system on) and carried the Phantom to another spot and tried to record a new home point by cycling the IOC switch CL-HL-CL 6 times but that didn't seem to replace the original home point. Did I do that properly?

Many thanks for your help.

Cheers

Mike V

SilentAV8R

I have seen that video and several others so I fully understand the differences between IOC off/CL/HL.

What I am asking for verification of is my observations of

1. trying to engage HL while within 30 feet actually engages CL
2. after flying beyond 30 ft having to re-engage HL to get it to go into HL
3. HL drops back into CL when reaching the home point.

Also, how do I reset the home point? I thought I did it the way the docs suggest (cycling HL-CL-HL 6 times) but it did not take.

Thanks.

mikeve said:
SilentAV8R

I have seen that video and several others so I fully understand the differences between IOC off/CL/HL.

What I am asking for verification of is my observations of

1. trying to engage HL while within 30 feet actually engages CL
2. after flying beyond 30 ft having to re-engage HL to get it to go into HL
3. HL drops back into CL when reaching the home point.

Also, how do I reset the home point? I thought I did it the way the docs suggest (cycling HL-CL-HL 6 times) but it did not take.

Thanks.