Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Invoke Fail-safe via X1 - can't regain control ?

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by IceFireSoul, May 13, 2014.

  1. IceFireSoul

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hello guys, my phantom is acting strange lately. I've set my DJI remote to activate the fail-safe via the X1 on the second ATT position; as advised. Turning that X1 back to the actual "ATT" setting used to regain the control over the phantom at first, but lately this does not work - should I activate the fail-safe mode; I can't regain control back again.

    Anyone had this happen to them?
     
  2. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    I'm not sure that using that slider switch to activate failsafe is the greatest idea. That thing can be bumped so easily. Try toggling it back and forward between atti and failsafe to regain control
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I'm pretty sure he meant S1 (the switch in the top right), not X1 (the gimbal control channel for the lever).

    IceFireSoul, you can still try what Ozzyguy suggested, toggling the switch back and forth between atti and failsafe positions.
     
  4. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Yes that would make more sense :)
     
  5. IceFireSoul

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well, in all cases, yes, I mean the switch upper-right. S1, or whatever it is : ) Once the issue kicks in, no amount of switching all switches to all positions would ever gain the control back for me.
     
  6. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I would plug the controller into your USB port and use the RC Assist software to double check the S1 switch bindings.
     
  7. Dalite

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA. USA
    In GPS, once enabled, control cannot be restored if it remains in GPS Mode.

    If you switch to ATTI, you can regain control while it slows to a hover and remains in hover for 3 seconds, before returningto home.

    If the controller reconnects to the receiver while returning to home, you can use ATTI mode to regain control, then you can switch back to GPS.

    Leave the left hand switch all the way up and don't try to use it during fail safe.

    In all cases, do not pull throttle stick below half way point until you regain control.

    If you did not wait until the second set of multiple green flashes before launch, fail safe will send your Phantom somewhere, but it is unlikely it will be where you launched from. This is not a flyaway, it is a result of flying in GPS mode before a home location can be recorded.
     
  8. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    hang on... is the OP in Phantom Mode or Naza Mode? Both toggles on the RC operate very differently in the 2 modes.
    In Phantom mode, it's my understanding that the left toggle does nothing and the right toggle can be set to trigger FailSafe or NormalFly but it's not actually GPS or ATTI mode.

    GPS and ATTI modes and CL/HL on the left switch only activate if you switch your Phantom to Naza mode I believe.

    fwiw, I stick to Phantom Mode and use the right toggle to trigger failsafe all the time (I use it as a rth/descend autopilot) and regain control whenever I want. Granted, it takes about 2 seconds for FS to trigger or disable... the LED lights on the bottom indicate when the phantom responds to the command (yellow for FS, green for NormalFly assuming you have GPS lock)

    agree you should make sure your RC has updated firmware. If it didn't, then definitely upgrade it and then do calibrations both in RC assistant and Phantom Assistant. You can verify your S1 toggle sending commands in Phantom Assistant... on the Basic / RC tab in the Control Mode Switch section... this is where you changed the toggle to be Failsafe yes? If NOT, then Failsafe is being triggered by some other means.
    anyway switching the switch should show what mode it's sending via the slider below, just like how the command sticks and X1 levers move above when you move them around... the little chevron should be pointing to NormalFly and when you toggle the right switch down it will move to Failsafe. toggling the switch back up the chevron should move back to NormalFly.

    again, my above paragraph only applies to Phantom Mode. disregard if you switched to Naza mode