International travel

Reaction score
I am a film producer and am planning to travel from Canada to Scotland soon to shoot some background material for a film I am doing about a lighthouse. I wanted to take my phantom 1/GoPro combination with me. Has anyone had any issues with transporting these copters on the airlines?

I met a guy in Colorado, at the airport, who reported that he has flow several times and always carries it on. However, You have to put the lipo batteries in your checked bag.

My goprofessional case is a few inches bigger the United airlines allows for carry ons but I am flying with it on Friday. I will let you know how it goes.

I traveled with my phantom as a carry on. But you do have to take your batteries as carry on not checked. Lipos need to be packed safely and stowed in a fireproof bag preferably. It's because if your batteries catch fire it would be easier and faster to detect. TSA won't give you any problems.

Thanks guys. Looks like we're good to go. The battery is not essentially different from what you have in a laptop so I guess it is best to carry them on board.

I am sitting at the beach getting breakfast in sunny Cabarete Dominican Republic. (aerial kitesurfing footage to follow later in the week)

I didn’t have any problems getting my Quad Goprofessional case onto the plane. I thought it was going to be too big for the overhead compartment but the majority of people had larger carry-on luggage then I did.

After the case went through security they pulled it aside and had me open it. They asked me about it while they swiped it, more out of curiosity they out of suspicion.

I attached 2 images that show how much room I had in the overhead compartment.

Attachments

• photo 2.JPG
    photo 2.JPG
    71.1 KB · Views: 553
  • photo 2 copy.jpg
    photo 2 copy.jpg
    153.7 KB · Views: 500
I fly weekly to Mexico with my full setup, and have converged on the following: