Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Interference

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ryanmanchester, May 28, 2016.

  1. ryanmanchester

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    108
    So I flew to prove that it's a load of waffle about inherence, I've flew next to all kinds of towers, never had one issue, the issue is the people who say it does then pilot error takes over, all in the mind

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. ray rokni

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    138
    I tend to agree, flown very close to cell towers, high voltage towers, water towers with Wi-Fi repeaters etc, never any issues


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. ryanmanchester

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    108
    Agree completely, I actually like looking at them, because some of these masts are so high like the one pictured is about 1700ft (taking sea level into that) it's amazing to see what the setup is.

    Just noted my original post says inherence, obviously I mean interference lol.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Reed L likes this.
  4. Kranmc

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's brave. Why do you think DJI says "don't" -aside from security issues? Did you have any loss of signal (eg: 5 bars down to 4 or 3)? What equipment were you using?
     
  5. ryanmanchester

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    108
    Using my inspire with only mod being the dbs. Always had signal, even checked screen recording, also had a spotter checking some metres we carry for any abnormal interference and nothing was perfect like always.

    I personally think and it's subjective that dji say not good idea to fly close just in case maybe it damages the towers, obviously a bad move


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    I guess it depends on what frequency the towers are transmitting at but I would not want to fly that close to tower sending out several hundred mega watts of RF power.
     
  7. kcmusa

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Virginia
    I think it depends on the tower. There are a few around me that do cause interference.
    It appears they have some directional , maybe microwave antennas. I get in their line and i lose signal all the time.
     
  8. ryanmanchester

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    108
    This tower and to quote wiki:

    The Holme Moss transmitting station is the highest in England and provides VHF coverage of both FM and DAB to a wide area around the transmitter including Derbyshire, Greater Manchester and West Yorkshire. When originally erected it also transmitted television signals, which travelled much further than their intended service area. They were received on the Isle of Man and in parts of the Irish Republic, mainly Dublin and Wicklow. Emley Moor (55.44°, 15.53 km) and Moorside Edge (348.22°, 11.56 km) transmitters can be seen from the location.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. fizzlefish

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    9
    I do not think i would try this near a AM transmitter in the megawatt range when broadcasting. Though i will say i am curious. Also need to remember not all of these transmitters are broadcasting at all times. Standing too close to a AM tower can be extremely harmful to your body and can cause damage without you even knowing right away. Those are some nice shots though.