Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Interference

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by cadre_78, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. cadre_78

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Joesrevolution

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    Could be the environment you are flying in. 2.4ghz is a fairly congested band and if there is a lot of wifi around you could have problems with noise. Try again in a more open area. Other things it may be could be that you have left the tx on without an antenna on it? This essentially ruins the video transmitter and allows all you mw to escape. Lastly what antennas are you using and in what orientation? Linear ones (stock) can have issues with noise if not pointed straight down on the bird but not usually to the extent that is shown in your video.
     
  3. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    Describe your setup. It looks like like an antenna or transmitter problem.
     
  4. cadre_78

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took the props off today and fired it up on my desk. Even at full power I didn't have any interference like I did before.
     
  5. cadre_78

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are some photos of the transmitter/antenna mounted on the quad.
     
  6. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    It might help if you had an antenna on the transmitter.

    OK, it sort-of has an antenna, but a quarter-wave piece of wire (1.24 inches) will give you maybe a 100 ft range when that side of the Phantom is facing the receiver.
     
  7. cadre_78

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so its an antenna issue. Any idea how I could attach a REAL antenna to this wire?
     
  8. Joesrevolution

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Devon
    You would need to solder an sma connector in place of the antenna you have already. The solder pads either side of the antenna are where it would attach and the connection for signal would go to the same place the antenna is.
     
  9. cadre_78

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Kinda crazy they didn't sell it with a proper antenna, no?
     
  10. cadre_78

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help. I bought another TX with a real antenna, much better results!