Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Interference from light kit?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Timmish, Sep 17, 2016.

  1. Timmish

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a new Phantom 3 4K and put a Polar Pro light kit on it. With the kit on, my phantom is all over the place and switches into atti-mode at will. When I take the light kit off, the problems seem to go away. Maybe I am answering my own question, but since the battery unit mounts on top of the phantom, is it interfering with the GPS signal? That's too bad because I fly a lot at dusk and really like the extra lights.
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    after putting on lights due a new imu calibration for added weight
     
  3. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    I cannot say for sure, but my initial thought would be that anything on the top, could interfere with the GPS unit.
    I would also think you could get a result by setting the drone up in the yard, and allow it to count satellites, then place that battery on top and see if it reduces the satellite count.

    Sent from my Verizon Galaxy Note4 using TapaTalk
     
  4. Timmish

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will try that.
     
  5. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    I have a set on my p3a haven't had a problem with them
     
  6. htownphantom

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well that would suck if you have to do an IMU calibration because I dont plan on leaving mine on and I have a hard enough time remembering everything to do besides adding something else to the checklist.
    You would think these would have been tested to make sure they dont interfere but who knows?
     
  7. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    Is your light battery on top of the drone as the OP'S is?

    Sent from my Verizon Galaxy Note4 using TapaTalk
     
  8. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    yes its polar pro ones
     
  9. roymoon

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    10
    If the light has variable output then it has oscillating circuitry inside.
    So yes it could interfere with other (phantom) circuitry.
     
  10. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    have it on mine doesn't due anything to it
     
  11. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    You have GLONASS on the Advanced, correct? I know my Standard has plain GPS, only gets half as many satellites. Not sure what the 4K does for GPS...
     
  12. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    yes you are correct