Insurance (legal liability/damage) Info For Phantom (Aust)

Reaction score
As a beginner I wanted to ensure I was covered for legal liability should my bird fall out of the sky (and onto a Ferrari or someone's head, not that I will be looking to fly over populous areas, but just in case I had a flyaway). Thought I'd post what I found here.

CGU:
"We will cover liability that arises from: model or toy aircraft" http://www.cgu.com.au/insurance/Documen ... nce_policy

However when I contacted them specifying the Phantom 2 Vision+, they responded:

"This is not considered a toy aircraft as stated in the product disclosure statement, the accessories and features of this particular air craft/drone is not something at the moment CGU is prepared to cover."

This was the response from another insurance provider I contacted specifying the model details.

AAMI:
"We can confirm that AAMI will cover you for the legal liability as outlined on page 37 of our PDS: http://www.aami.com.au/sites/default/fi ... ts-pds.pdf

As per page 33 of our PDS we will cover it as an unspecified item but not whilst in use i.e. if someone stole it out of your car then we will cover it, however if you were flying it and crashed it we will not cover the item."

Looks like I'll be switching from CGU (my current home & contents insurance provider) to AAMI :)

Though may consider another if I find one who will cover the device while in use (e.g. a good accidental damage policy)... any tips?

Re: Insurance (legal liability/damage) Info For Phantom (Aus

It's not clear from the AAMI policy and what you wrote, particularly since they said ...however if you were flying it and crashed it we will not cover the item.
WiIl they cover your liability in the event of your Phantom crashing and causing damage or just give you cover against loss?

It might have helped to have the questions I asked which were: