Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

IMU error recalibrate?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Turbazz, May 11, 2015.

  1. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    IMU error recalibrate.. Does anybody get this message when first starting up? Then after a few seconds it switches to warming up? After that is absolutely fine. It does take a minute or two to warm up, is this normal guys?
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Have you recalibrated it?
    I would assume it's saying you should do it. From the app.

    I would do it at least after any firmware and after unboxing too ideally.
    It will give you a message if it needs doing though [*oh*]
     
  3. Lenrage

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where is the imu calibration on the app
     
  4. AgentOrange2015

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Lake Ouachita, AR
    In regards to recalibrating the P3, I understand that you have to take the mini card out of the P3 and then put it in it's holder and then download the firmware upgrade to the mini card via your computer and then after downloading you have to reinstall the card in the P3. I understand that you have to do this process for each firmware upgrade, but can you still just hook up the P3 to your computer, turn on your controller and then recalibrate everything else or not. There seems to be a different procedure for the P3 as compared to the P2. Any thoughts on this might help everyone.
     
  5. AgentOrange2015

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Lake Ouachita, AR
    I am just guessing but I think you have to recalibrate your IMU through the Assistant Software, which means hooking the P3 up to your computer, but this may have changed with the P3 compared to the P2.
     
  6. Skyy

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    38
    It is under MC settings -- > sensors.

    I had this same error couple of times in start. Recalibrated IMU and everything is now fine. Warming up takes some time, but I guess it is normal.
     
  7. cascadeflyer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    35
    Wrong. It's in the app. You tube is your friend. Search and you shall find!
     
  8. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Everything is accessible from the app - there is no Assistant software for the phantom 3.
    It does still have a mini USB on the front though.
    The app layout is quite confusing - for some things you have to scroll down or go into sub-menus, so easily missed.
     
  9. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    My IMU takes awhile to warm up. 30 to 45 seconds. Next time I fly I will time it.