Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

IMU error ..at startup..normal?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by CalleDK, Jun 5, 2015.

  1. CalleDK

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello...

    Everytime I startup...i get an IMU error in the DJI app.... until I calibrate...is that normal?.

    everything is updated to newest firmware.

    And shouldnt it ..write ...Firmware is the latest..in the DJI app..under overall status...i saw that in a youtube video?

    i checked the textfile on my sd card..and it write that firmware is the newest 1.1.9
     
  2. aheydeck

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've gotten that a couple of times too. So i just calibrated it a couple of times, and then it went away (not the phantom, the error =)).
     
  3. HacKiwi

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I've got the same thing. Seems to happen when I start up in the cold.. will try another IMU cal.. done 2 already. If I start up inside the house it never happens.
     
    CalleDK likes this.
  4. RC Geeks

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Shouldn't really happen everytime you startup, try calibrating before your next 2-3 flights and see if it goes away.
     
    CalleDK likes this.
  5. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Be sure you verify before calibrating that the Phantom is perfectly level front back and side to side. Very important!
     
    CalleDK likes this.
  6. RC Geeks

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    +1
     
  7. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Because it was initially calibrated when it was warm. If you calibrate it when it's cold, it can account for a larger temp spectrum on startup, and won't give you the error.
     
    HacKiwi likes this.
  8. HacKiwi

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Thanks. Will give this a try in the morning and report back. The fault is really annoying!
     
  9. HacKiwi

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Genius.. Calibrated it out in the cold.. errors gone :)
     
    bbfpv likes this.