Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

IMU Calibration

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by donmillett, Dec 27, 2015.

  1. donmillett

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had my P3A for awhile and have been though 3 Firmware Updates up to the current 1.6 -- question is, do I hv to calibrate the IMU? And, (stupid question) what is the IMU?
    I've flown many times with no issues. I'm afraid (I guess) of updating stuff I'm not sure about. Also, is there anything else I need to calibrate? Thank You
     
  2. Squiddley

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Yorkton Sask Canada
    I just updated my Phantom 3 pro to the latest firmware and after I updated I did the IMU calibration, then the gimbal calibration then the RC calibration then when I go out to fly next time I will do the Phantom calibration (DJI Dance), I would do these steps everytime I do a new firmware update, the IMU calibration isnt hard to do just make sure where you have the phantom sitting that it is totally level and start the calibration it doesnt take very long to do, I would also put the phantom in the fridge for say half an hour or so, so that it is cool when you start cause the IMU calibration warms the phantom up real hot, I set mine outside here cause it was -17 degrees cecius here, left it out for about 15 mins then did the IMU calibration and after it was done shut it off let it cool for half hour then do the gimbal and RC calibration and you should be set to go... hope this helps you out
     
    jryser likes this.
  3. donmillett

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Squidley..... Thanks for the info. I'll hv to search the DJIGO app for the IMU and Gimbal calibration...thank you
     
  4. GlennG

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    Perfect explanation! I put mine in the beer fridge for about an hour before doing the calibration. When it is cold, it won't take the aircraft as long to earn up.
     
  5. GlennG

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    Look under the aircraft>sensors once in camera view. Do it even if it says you don't have to if you just did update.
     
  6. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    IMU is the Phantom's "Internal Measuring Unit"
     
  7. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    do this after each firmware update.
     
  8. TheRealNick

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    109
    I would avoid this if everything is going well. If it is flying perfectly you are just creating a chance for it to be messed up...
     
  9. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    Or perhaps "Inertial Measurement Unit". :)
     
  10. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    It is best to calibrate the IMU and compass after each firmware change. Most likely the new firmware preserves the existing calibration but there is a chance DJI overwrites it with a difference calibration. DJI is not consistent with their firmware releases so it is best to be safe.

    You should also double check all of your settings as those may change as well.
     
  11. Kranmc

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Maybe a duh question but . . . Do you do the IMU calibration outside in full view of the satellites or can it be done indoors? Other question if I haven't done an IMU calibration since I got the P3P in June, would this explain why my drone still drifts a bit when in hover mode?
     
  12. Squiddley

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    Yorkton Sask Canada
    I did my IMU calibration in the house on the kitchen floor, I would do the IMU calibration then a compass calibration as well that should help with your drift problems
     
  13. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    when you do the imu calabration it has to be cold and done on a perfectly level surface.
    use a level to check this.
     
  14. donmillett

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I assume we are putting the "battery" in the fridge for awhile prior to IMU calibration.
    I also assume I can immediately calibrate the compass after I have calibrated the IMU.
    I also assume the IMU is onboard the aircraft and I do not have to complete an IMU/Compass calibration with each of my 3 batteries(?)
    Hey, what can I say I'm old so I can use the brain cell loss excuse...Thank You
     
  15. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    Not the battery. The Phantom needs to be cold when you start the IMU calilbration.

    Yes, you can do the compass calibration immediately afterward. Just don't be near anything that will cause magnetic interference.

    Yes, the IMU is on the Phantom itself. You don't need to do it with each battery.
     
  16. donmillett

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you barefootbeachcombing --- just the aircraft in the fridge without the battery?
    Happy New Year
     
  17. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    have the controler ready to do the imu calabration once you have turned the a/c on.
    it will heat up very fast and u will loose all the cold you will need to do the calabration.
     
  18. Larry L

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    No, you do not need satellites for the calibration. Do your IMU calibration somewhere that is totally level & make sure craft is kept completely still. Don't bump table or disturb craft while in the process.
    The IMU calibration is under sensors on the screen as shown.
    As far as sticking in the fridge, I personally do not do that, it is cool where I live now & have not had any problem. I just do not want to take a chance of condensation forming inside my camera. Some people swear by the refrigerator method while others don't. It is just personal preference. Good luck & enjoy your quad. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1451622775.525885.jpg