Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

IMU bird not connecting

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by sky high, Sep 28, 2015.

  1. sky high

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trying to calibrate my IMU but bird will not connect.
    I am indoors does that make a difference having metal around me
     
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    So you cant see the what the camera sees? No FPV?
    Check your cable first and make sure you cant talk to the phantom. Try another USB if you have to.
    When you can see what the camera is seeing, then you can do an IMU calibration.

    And a side note...
    IMU and compass are separate.
    IMU can be done anywhere with a levelled surface. Compass MUST be done outside, far from any metals. I usually do mine at a park.
     
  3. sky high

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tried the IMU says no need to calibration
     
  4. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Do it anyway--
     
  5. sky high

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Doing it now
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  6. sky high

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Earlier I connected the bird and IMU said no calibration needed I go out in the field and it won't connect to the bird at all I come home and it will connect so I'm doing the calibration now
     
  7. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Cant hurt
     
  8. sky high

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    So I don't think it is the cord
     
  9. sky high

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    You would think DJI would be on top of this firmware update and take care of the issues
     
  10. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Well, if you have been reading the posts on this forum for the past 5 months, you wouldn't think that, although DJI's response to issues have been improving this past couple of weeks-- FW upgrades have been a continuing and ongoing problem for some and no issue for others. Of course you seldom hear from those who have no issues.

    So I can tell you from experience, that the few issues, I have had, have been products of my not reading and following the instructions to a tee. When I did, the FW upgrades went without a hitch.

    I didn't do every upgrade when they came out, but waited for others to see what issues they were having. But now I am on 1.3.2 on the Controller and 1.4.1 on the Phantom and 8.4 on the Ipad and I have no issues.

    There are those that upgraded, to 1.2.6 or 1.2.8 that had valid issues that those upgrades caused. And some upgraded to 1.3.2 and had valid issues. DJI did produce a revert to 1.1.9 for those having issues. Just hang in there, things are getting better.
     
  11. sky high

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks but when you listen and follow everything you get kind of tired when you drive out to a location so you are not by anyone to practice and the bird does not connect then you drive home. Then you start all over agin reading everyone's post and calibrate your gimbal and then calibrate your IMU and it connects and you get a good connection and go back out to your spot away from everyone and does the same thing. So you state all what you want there is issues and each bird is different because of a lot of factors. Example being close to metal or electrical interference.
     
  12. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I have never had a connection issue being close to metal or interference-- compass error yes-- no connection -- no -- there must be another issue-- maybe internal.
     
  13. Zelda 1

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    I know one of my first lesson was to be sure to power up the remote first, before bird! Simple, but crucial.
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  14. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    That could be the issue, but probably is not. That is a general radio control practice that have been in use for years. With electric RC airplanes, motors will sometimes activate when the plane is powered up before the Transmitter. That is very dangerous and has caused some serious injuries in the electric model plane hobby. To date, that scenario has not been prevalent with the Phantom. Powering the Phantom first has not caused this issue that I am aware of.. I have accidently powered mine on a couple of times- before the transmitter and I did get a connection upon powering the transmitter on and the Phantom motors did not start on their own. When I did do that, I immediately recyle the start up in the proper order.