Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Improving FPV Range in Phantom 2 Vision

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Mariog7, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. Mariog7

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Branchburg, NJ
    Hello, All.

    Coming from the world of RC helis, this is a blast! Have about 20 flights and no issues whatsoever. Lots of fun.

    I can get about 600 - 800 ft range at about 100 ft altitude before I loose FPV connection, which is a bit short of DJI's 300m claim, but to be expected. Any tweeks you can recommend to improve FPV range on my Phantom 2 vision (stock setup)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. M.Tigelaar

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You can buy the range extender of the vision plus (RE 700)
    viewtopic.php?f=7&t=22318&hilit=Re700
     
  3. DBeard

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Make sure you have LOS to the aircraft. Choose flight paths carefully avoiding competing radio frequencies and interference.
    Make sure you have fully charged batteries to start every session.
    Orient your antennae to the aircraft, perpendicular.
     
  4. pencilcoil

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    9
    I added a 9dbi antenna to the extender and now get a solid 1300 to 1400ft. Used to get about 800 ft before the signal started to break up. I have a spare antenna with sp-sma cable (both brand new). You can have it at cost price if you want. £15 plus postage,assuming your in UK?
     
  5. Mariog7

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Branchburg, NJ
    Thanks for the offer, but I'm in the USA. I like the idea of modding the antenna.
     
  6. ProfessorStein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    There are a ton of threads, here, that'll likely interest you. ;)

    Here's one of the latest:
    viewtopic.php?t=9092

    Just remember that, without modding, a Phantom's tx operates at 5.8GHz and it's video link operates at 2.4GHz. This is important because it's the exact opposite of how most other manufacturers do it, and you'll need to buy antennas accordingly.
     
  7. Mariog7

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Branchburg, NJ
    Thanks for the info, guys. I'm all set!