Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

iMac?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Squiddley, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. Squiddley

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    Yorkton Sask Canada
    anyone know if an iMac intel core 2 duo would be big enough to edit 4K video
     
  2. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    566
    There are a lot of things that go into editing and rendering video. The man component is CPU - more cores is better

    Some software is able to use the GPU to speed up processing.. faster gpu.. more cuda cores is better.

    So to answer your question we need to know CPU, GPU. Additionally what are your needs and expectations.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  3. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    3,934
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Australia
    Depends which model. The earlier ones (2009 from memory) with the E7600 processor and 4 gig of ram you will need to be very patient. Sluggish won't do it justice.
     
  4. Yooper

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    I did a recording on my phantom and want to transfer to my iMac so I can edit in iMovie. Can someone tell me how I can transfer it to my Mac
     
  5. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    3,934
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Australia
    Have a look at the back of your IMac. You can use a micro SD to SD adaptor or an SD to USB adaptor and the appropriate connector.
    IMG_0400.PNG
     
  6. Yooper

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
     
  7. Yooper

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sorry one more question. Can I plug in the mini usb on the phantom and run it into the usb on the back of the iMac? Will that let the iMac read the sd card?
     
  8. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    3,934
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes. Phantom needs to be powered up.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - iMac Forum Date
Question for the Computer Geeks (iMac) Editing (Photo and Video) May 13, 2017
Best Photo and Video Editing Software for iMac Photos and Video May 7, 2017
ipad pro 9.7" 128 gig LTE-imac-Google Pixel XL 32 gig-Canon and Nikon gear Classifieds Apr 29, 2017
My Videos w/ iMovie and iMac Photography and Film Feb 8, 2017
iMac software. Video/Photo Editing Jan 27, 2017