Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

I'm sorry to ask so many questions...

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Matchlock, Jun 24, 2016.

  1. Matchlock

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    Hi everyone;

    Sorry to ask so many questions but I'm totally stumped with this. On my setup for the controller I'm at a place where it says Remote Controller requires upgrade and below that in blue type it says "download" firmware"

    Camera requires upgrade. Refer to the tutorial videos in Academy

    Aircraft requires upgrade. Refer to the tutorial videos in Academy

    Battery requires upgrade. Refer to the tutorial videos in Academy

    I have no idea where to find these videos as I don't know what "Academy" is. Could someone please help me? I wish I understood this better but I think I may have bought something that's way above my pay grade. I don't think I can do this without some help from someone that knows.

    Please help me if you can, I would be most grateful.

    Thank you.

    Bud
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,627
    Location:
    US
    liketogethigh likes this.
  3. Matchlock

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thank you kindly, and how do I find out which version is currently installed on my Phantom?
     
  4. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Use the search function on this forum. Your question has been answered lots of times.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,627
    Location:
    US
    You can find the firmware version in the "General Settings" --> "About" section of DJI GO. You'll only see it if DJI GO is connected to your Phantom.
     
    liketogethigh likes this.
  6. ryantrax

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Xenia, Ohio
    It is listed in the about section in the DJI GO app.
     
    liketogethigh likes this.
  7. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Your GO app will give you the version info when you are connected to your Phantom. The Academy is the symbol with the graduation cap when you first start the GO app.
     
    liketogethigh likes this.
  8. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Looks like 3 of us answered at the exact same time.
     
  9. Matchlock

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    I'm sorry, but I'm having trouble navigating the forum. I'm 70 years old and understanding things has become very difficult these days. I'm sorry to be a bother to you folks and I do hope you understand. I've looked for the search function but cannot seem to find it.

     
  10. Matchlock

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thank you, that's very kind of you to explain it for me. I will go and see if I can locate this now.


     
  11. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Sir, I apologize for being so glib in my reply. You are not bothering anyone! This is what the forum is for. If you have questions, you can search by clicking on the small magnifying glass icon on the top right hand corner of the page. Type in some key words or a question and other people's posts related to your question will pop up.
     
    #11 Great_Lakes, Jun 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016
  12. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Instead of upgrading right away, if your having trouble, just start it up and make sure that it runs right now, straight out of the box. "requires upgrade" doesn't mean that you need to upgrade it today. Take it outside with a full battery and start it up. Use the entire battery to simply go through the entire go-app. Start the motors and if it all looks good, the camera is working and everything is running fine. Then shut down, charge the battery back to full, put the props on and take off. Then in a few days when you have a good feel for it, update it then if you want to. There's no need to update today especially if your overwhelmed by it already.
     
    dtviewer and Great_Lakes like this.
  13. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Near the top right corner of the page, you will see the magnifying glasses? That is your search function for this forum... ;-)

    By the way: Age has no barriers in RC hobbies.

    RedHotPoker
     
  14. dtviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    79
    I agree with the above reply.
    Fly for a couple of weeks with it as is. Once you are more confident and have used it fr a while then look in to upgrading.
    When you do upgrade follow the steps msinger posted the link to in the post above.
     
  15. Matchlock

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    Please no apology necessary. You've all been very kind and I can imagine how frustrating it is when answering the same questions many times over. I guess I'm a little over my head with this and I should have known better. I just realized that you need to more of a photographer than a pilot with the Phantom 3 Professional.

    Thank you also for the tip about the Academy button, I found it ok.

    Bud


     
  16. Matchlock

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thank you so much for that advice. I was worried about not upgrading the firmware because I was led to believe that if I didn't have the latest firmware installed, I could have what I understand is called a "Flyaway" and I was afraid to use it for that reason and until the firmware was upgraded.

    If it is safe to fly without the upgrades for a little while then that's what I'll do.

    I would like you all to know that I am extremely grateful for all of you up here and your advice. You have put me at ease quite a bit and I don't have quite the anxiety level I had yesterday.

    With kindest regards to all who are trying to help me,

    Bud


     
    liketogethigh and Reed L like this.
  17. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    Hey Bud. I got my first drone when I was 71. That was 8 months ago. U will see me everywhere on here now. I have rebuilt drones but now I concentrate on repairing gimbals. I would rather fix them tan fly them. Who knew
     
    HIGHFLIER and liketogethigh like this.
  18. Susruth

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    And I thought I was too old for this at 46
     
  19. captainmilehigh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    Nope. We're just all big kids anyway.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Great_Lakes likes this.
  20. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    Yup. Really old big kids
     
    Great_Lakes likes this.