Idaho Drone Ban

Reaction score
Hello from Idaho. I'm a new drone owner, as of two weeks ago. Today I discovered Idaho State Law 21-213. It appears to make all drone photography illegal. Which is typically my luck in life. Anyone familiar with this have any insight to share? ...or know anyone who wants to buy a very slightly used P4P?

:(

I think it means you can't film people or property for publication without consent. I'm no lawyer but it doesn't say all drones with cameras are illegal. lol but if you want to sell cheap [emoji12]

I think it means you can't film people or property for publication without consent. I'm no lawyer but it doesn't say all drones with cameras are illegal. lol but if you want to sell cheap [emoji12]
Not only that, but if someone were ever to be charged under this law and had pockets deep enough to fight it, the law would certainly be found to be unconstitutional.

I agree with you Mr. Salty, unfortunately, my pockets would not be classified by any stretch of the definition, to be deep. :(

Reactions: Budman
@bow, "publication or otherwise publicly disseminating" such as Facebook and YouTube....

Actually, when seeking protection under the US Constitution, 1st Amendment, you actually _want_ to show that you are disseminating the photo or video. Keeping it to yourself works against you in your defense of freedom of speech.

And this is different from when a news helicopter broadcast's video (you do have those in Idaho right?)how?

Stupid laws.
Not different at all, other than that is legal and from a drone it isn't. Definitely disappointed in my state right now.

Here's the link to the law: Section 21-213 – Idaho State Legislature
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/title21/t21ch2/sect21-213/