Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

i want a fast prop

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Mods' started by p fandango, Jun 28, 2016.

  1. p fandango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    I want as much speed as i can out of my Phantom, its only my mess about so not bother if they cause jello or side-effects like that. I've got the DJI 9443's, 9450 & DJI carbons but been thinking about the aftermarket triple-blade props you can get from ebay. Wouldn't normally dream of buying them, but just need more speed. Will i get it with them, or anyone recommend a quick prop
     
  2. RocketBrew

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    Arizona
    They discuss different prop types and uses in this video.
     
    p fandango likes this.
  3. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    p fandango likes this.
  4. p fandango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    being impatient i've ordered a set of triple blades anyway
     
  5. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    9450s are the fastest you're going to get. If you need to go faster go to the assistant and make one of your toggle switches manual mode, now that's fast
     
  6. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    For any significant speed increase you will need to hack the firmware. Max speed is largely determined by the pitch angle of the AC.
     
  7. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Speed is determinate by several factors. A major contributor is the max pitch or roll angles. These are fixed and will not be affected by props.
    There are downsides too as to more load on the airframe, motors, or battery resulting in less efficiency and increased stress.
    The frame/motor/prop/ESC combo is optimized for a camera platform.
     
  8. p fandango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    i've never tried full manual mode. Bet it wouldn't be long before I crash, but might try it ;)
     
  9. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    do not.
    Many have enough trouble with ATTI. You need a well balanced Phantom to fly manual. I can tell you now, if you have any attachments such as cameras, transmitters etc, it will create a bias and make it very difficult to control. There is NO trim setting on the Phantoms.

    But if you insist, then make sure you goto an open clear field and get the phantom high as you visibly can and keep your finger on the toggle to switch to GPS in case you **** yourself.
     
    crash1sttime and p fandango like this.
  10. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    I agree with Mako, you need to be in an open field and you need to know that you probably will crash. A word to the wise, take off from the ground in manual mode and then climb to a height where you can switch to GPS and recover if things get sketchy. It is a fast thrilling experience, which I tried once and then quickly removed it in the assistant, that being said, everybody should try it once
     
    p fandango likes this.
  11. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Oh by the way it'll be about 40 seconds, then you'll crash