Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional I only have one USB port on my remote controller

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by StackTrace, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. StackTrace

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just unboxed my Phantom 3 Pro and tried to connect the remote to my mobile device. The cable that was shipped to me was a standard usb to micro usb. I assumed that the micro usb end went into my mobile device and that the standard usb end went into the remote controller. But my remote controller only has one USB port and it's the micro USB port. I'm unable to get the controller to communicate with my mobile device even though I've been able to physically connect the two with a micro-to-micro USB cable (extremely hard to find!). I've google-image searched for picture of other controllers and I cannot find a single controller out there that only has a micro-usb port on it. Am I just a n00b and am missing something obvious? I've done quite a bit of poking around online and I'm becoming more and more convinced that I may indeed have a defective controller. Any thoughts on this?
     
    Rush Videos likes this.
  2. doctordrone

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    RC has a standard USB port on back. Plug your phone/tablet in to that with the charging cable you normally use.
     
  3. doctordrone

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    It should look like this: ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1452981629.729245.jpg
     
  4. chops411

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have the Phantom 3 4K and my remote only has the micro usb also. Could I buy an adopter for a lighting cable hook up with my iPad or best just to keep using wifi?
     
  5. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Only option is WIFI
     
    chops411 likes this.
  6. Caveman Bruce

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    The mini cable included with the Phantom is for doing Firmware upgrades. You can use your regular IPhone charging cord and attach it to the RC, download the DJI Go application from the DJI web page. Then follow the direction on firmware updates. Once again the DJI site has the latest firmware upgrade, you download this to your PC and then need to load it on the SD card. Turn on your drone and insert the micro SD card (there are many you tube videos that can walk you through this, this can be a 45-50 min procedure. I bought a USB micro SD card reader from best buy for $9.00. After you have completed the drone update successfully, you then need to update your Remote, insert the micro SD card with a clean copy of the firmware update in the USB card reader then plug it into the USB port of the Remote and turn on 3-8 min here is a link to follow:

    .

    Please let me know how it went or if you need more help

    Good Luck and happy flying!

    Bruce
     
  7. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    733
    Location:
    Australia
    I think the op has a pro with a 4k tx or a 4k tx and a 4k...
     
  8. Bob cimafonte

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    My pro controller's usb seem like it's not working . Plugged in my iPad and get no response
     
  9. Bob cimafonte

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also is the main board supposed to get hot
     
  10. PanBzoch

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Are you sure you have Phantom 3 Pro? Isn't it Phantom 4K?
     
  11. Bob cimafonte

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    733
    Location:
    Australia
    My phantom gets ridiculously warm powered up idling. To the point i am uncomfortable running the flight sim. Does not heat up in flight though.
     
  13. Bob cimafonte

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. kureigu3

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    You either have the 4K or Standard Phantom3. No Lightbridge/USB port for you. You only have the 480P/wifi downlink.
     
  15. Rush Videos

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham , AL
    I have the Phantom 3 4K as well and wondered why there was no standard USB port, you have to move up to the professional for that along with light bridge. Te do make an Apple lightning to micro usb adapter if that will help.
     
  16. Avocet

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    36
    The pain.
     
  17. Rush Videos

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham , AL
    Yeah the DJI Phantom 3 4K is great but direct connect is always more reliable. I have to say I'm very happy so far and it does great video.
     
  18. bruceman007

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    i ordered a micro usb to micro usb from ebay for 3.88 shipped. i think its bullcrap that dji would purposefully disconnect the usb1 port. i removed the panel to find that its not even soldered in there.. i do not want to wifi--when will they learn that wifi is soo unresponsive and a pain when wifi 's are set internally to pick the strongest and lock on--thereby disconnecting your phantom 3..hell bluetooth would have been better---or hey PUT THE USB BACK IN.
     
  19. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Welcome to the forum!
    The last post on this thread was in June.
    I had a P2V+, and now a P3S, I know little about P3 A/P.
    To help you out what is the actually problem?
    Do you have a Pro?
    This is a Pro thread.
    Anytime in past that I can remember somebody was looking for a micro usb to micro usb, they had a Standard.

    Let us know.:)


    Rod
     
  20. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    It's probably not unknown for the wrong controller to be supplied especially if the vendor has opened the box for some reason.
    Some sellers won't have a clue about the important differences since they all look similar.