I need help.

Reaction score
I am new to the Phantom but I flew it successfully 2 hours after I got it and it flies like a dream....I have about twenty flights under my belt and I am getting familiar and confident with it. I mounted a GoPro, shot video and stills and couldn't be happier with everything so far. However, I do need some advice...I am barely computer literate but I was able to download the assistant software and connect the Phantom but it tells me that I have it update the " firmware" before I can go any farther. My question is this...if I am happy with the way it's flying and have no intention of using the IOC, is it necessary for me to update anything or can I leave it like it is?

I am still flying on the 4.0 with no problems on the 1.1.1 . The only reasion I have not updated is the Assistant would not let me register dji said they where working on it (this is a rear situation) all the searching I did not many had this problem . Tried shutting all my firewalls off . Well 3 pcs later my oldest PC worked and let me register that was about a month ago but I still am running the 4.0 that came with my bird because everything works fine my flying season is on hold because of the weather so I probably will update . I have been going a good 3 months with the 4.0 so you should be fine if your not having any problems . There are some good vids on YouTube that do a step by step for when your ready to update . Dji puts out updates to fix bugs so you should do it when you feel more comfortable doing it .
GL