Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

I just switched from Note 3 to Ipad Air 2

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by passive jay, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. passive jay

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    89
    oh sweet baby jesus what a difference!

    Obviously the ipad has a bigger screen but I was amazed at how much faster the app ran in general.

    For example the Note 3 took a couple minutes to load up your flight log for you to watch while the ipad has that **** ready as soon as you click on it.

    The note 3 did a fine job for what it was but this Ipad is kicking its ***.
     
  2. Rider82

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    10
    I've just bought an iPad Air 2 myself, and am upgrading from an iPhone 5S... This iPad is amazing, I cannot wait to fly!!
     
  3. jlo

    jlo

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    FL
    Air 2 is the best device for the P3 imo.

    Did you get the cellular version?
     
  4. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Welcome to the Dark side. Luke, I am your father!
     
    FrequentFlyer likes this.
  5. passive jay

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    89
    naw, i couldn't justify it for the few extra options it adds to the flying experience.
     
  6. hebimetaru

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use the note 3 as well I find watching video footage back on my phone is a little choppy... is it perfect on the iPad?
     
  7. jlo

    jlo

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    FL
    I had to have dynamic home point.
    I had to have dynamic home point. Regardless, I'd love the WiFi only version if that's what I had. It's a great device. The screen is sick, it's like you're actually touching the pixels. :)
     
    acherman likes this.
  8. passive jay

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    89
    i only have had one flight so far but it worked perfectly, no choppiness at all
     
  9. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    Make sure you turn on hardware decoding as well.. This will make it even smoother.
     
  10. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    On the Air 2? I thought it had plenty of processor power without turning on hardware decoding. Doesn't that also make it run hotter?
     
  11. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    No it's the opposite, When you turn on hardware decode you are using the GPU of the device. When set to OFF, it's using software decode via the CPU, which in turn makes it run hotter. The only time you want to turn off hardware decode is if you are experiencing reboots of the ipad
     
  12. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Well I'll be damned! I've been doing it wrong! I'll give it a try tomorrow.............. it's raining here today. Thanks!
     
  13. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Interesting that while using Shou on the Air 2 I get a black screen recording with it on (and yes assistive touch is on) but with hardware acceleration turned off I get the flight screen recorded. I have tried this several times and it has been the same, I wonder if another app is in conflict, although I don't have much on the Air and make sure to unload all active apps prior to flying. So far the Air 2 has worked great but I fly in the morning before the heat builds up.
     
  14. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    Probably because shou is using software decode since it DOESN'T have full access to the GPU.
     
    #14 blade strike, Jul 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2015
  15. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Now that you mention it you are likely correct, Shou is not designed to use hardware acceleration due to it being cross platform I suppose. This would result in the black screen when is on. Well, I don't use it every flight, more of a gee wiz thing for me as I feel the app provides enough information. Shou is nice when you are projecting the flight for a group of people on the big screen, they can follow along without asking a bunch of questions that the screen overlay provides.
     
  16. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    I just re-read your post, are you saying Shou DOES have full access to the GPU? if so why does it not record with the GPU turned on?, and will record with it turned off?
     
  17. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    Sorry typo should been doesn't have full access to the GPU
     
  18. ImJim

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    35
    How was the FPV experience with the 5S? Could you get a smooth video feed or was it jerky? Thanks :)
     
  19. Toolguy

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Where do you turn this on?
     
  20. passive jay

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    89

    hardware decoding? is that an Ipad setting or is it an app setting?