Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

I have no idea what I'm doing!

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Den Den, Mar 29, 2014.

  1. Den Den

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please help an aging old baby boomer. Got a Phantom 1 with mount:
    First: I use a Mac after much trouble & calling the help line (on hold for 58 minutes) I find out it is not supported by Mac.
    Second: Dig out old Windows laptop & install what I think is correct software on it
    Third: How do I get the software into the Phantom?
    Fourth: Is there an easy to read step by step process to get this $500 paperweight off the ground?
    Fifth: Is there anywhere to explain all the lingo & abbreviations used?
     
  2. woodmort

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having just done #3. You should have an USB cable with the Phantom. Attach it to the laptop and the grey socket inside the Phantom--you may have to dig it out. Turn on the controller and plug the batter into the Phantom the software should load.
    Here are a couple of videos I found helpful:
    http://vimeo.com/57333663
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxtOMsIsezo

    The first will answer #3 and the second #4

    Good luck.
     
  3. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Iowa, United States
    I might also suggest downloading the manuals and reading them. They are all available on the DJI web site. So grab your reading glasses and have at it.

    http://www.dji.com/product/phantom/download

    No sense in being in a rush to fly something you have no idea what you are doing, endangering yourself, others and your investment.
     
  4. DaveTown

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    You might tell us where you are, so if one of the members here are nearby, they might offer to meet with you and help you out.
     
  5. Den Den

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in south central Pennsylvania, near Gettysburg.
     
  6. RogerClark

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Den Den

    If the Phantom is new, there should be no need to update the firmware.

    I'd recommend you just go and fly it.

    The only thing you need to do is charge the battery and then do the compass calibration, (neither of which need the Phantom to be connected to the computer).

    If you are concerned that its going to fly away out of control etc, just tie it to a long piece of string. I"ve done this when testing and it works fine (as long as you tie the other end to something heavy ;-)
     
  7. Jermz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    3
    Read over the manuals after downloading them from dji. Make sure you understand what the lights mean. There are several YouTube videos out there that are great at explaining what's going on with this thing. If you understand the lights, know what to do before launch, aren't flying in crazy wind and don't try to fly her higher or further away than you should, you'll be fine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
  9. len750

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    14
    You're lucky! There's nothing like the early days of learning this exciting and wonderful hobby. Read, read and watch DJI and YouTube videos till ya got it. You're already ahead of the curve by actually Asking for help!
    Next up...flying over a Gettysburg re-enactment war display. Just don't let a cannonball knock you out of the sky. b :)