I can't figure out who's got the problem, pilots or DJI

Reaction score
I'm new to the Phantom forum but have been lurking for a while, mine will arrive Monday. Anyway, I have read of failure of this and failure of that but at the same time I have seen many posts that praise the Phantom and no issues at all, even after the dreaded firmware updates. My question is, I almost have to believe that most failures are due to something done wrong, downloaded or installed wrong or something not calibrated properly. I can't believe that DJI's quality control is so bad that 2 or 3 out of ten or more Phantoms come off the line bad. If they were handmade, maybe, but from an assembly line, just hard to fathom. Do you think that most failures are pilot error and not DJI failures? I would feel better knowing that if I do everything by the book, I will have no issues. There is a lot to calibrate and get right before taking off and if it's done correctly, all problems should take care of themselves. Am I being naïve or are there quality issues at DJI?

Reactions: JKDSensei
There are very few complaints when you compare them to the number of Phantoms sold. Keep in mind that most people who have no problems are not posting about their good experiences.

That's exactly what I'm saying, the few complaints, could they be avoided by setting up everything properly and not just opening the box and sticking the battery in and let's go? Or is there a real problem at DJI that needs to be addressed?

There are very few complaints when you compare them to the number of Phantoms sold. Keep in mind that most people who have no problems are not posting about their good experiences.