I am ready for my first flight!

Reaction score
Hastings, Minnesota and Palm Springs, California
I have my Quadcopter (Phantom 3 Advanced) being delivered tomorrow.

I have a Micro SD card loaded with the latest Firmware .Bin.

I am ready to Calibrate the Compass.

I have read the manuals several times and watched numerous videos. I will exercise all caution and hope to be able to take off and return home without going too far away...very close in line of sight.

I do have one question. Do I need to update the IMU? I am not really sure what the IMU is or does. Does the Pilot app tell you if it needs to be updated?

Reactions: D4T_PoM
Hi,

I'm a newbie too, I did not do the IMU calibration on my P3 when I bought it 2 and a bit weeks ago, I count myself lucky as my birds flying good and stable and have had no issue's as of now whatsoever, also had the 1.3.20 firmware pre-installed from factory (strange as it only came out last week).

DJI supply the P3 with a Lexar 633x Micro SDHC 16GB

I took the P3 out from the box, checked battery levels for the bird and controller, put the batteries on charge (wait was immense as waiting for the controller to fully charge took ages - well to me it seemed like ages lol)

Once they were fully charged I took the bird out, did the calibration and took her up to hover about 2-3 meters above the ground and checked out all controls and made sure all was OK with DJI Pilot app and then took the bird higher to comfortability zone.

I also kept the beginner mode on which I advise you to use until your are comfortable with it to be taken off.

I'm practising to fly on ATTI Mode too (this should be your next step) just to be on the safe side, going through posts on the forum re: ATTI Mode like mad and trying to get more and more knowledge about flying in that mode.

I'm waiting for the winds to settle in London so I can fly further on ATTI mode.