Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How & where is the compass calibration data kept?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by dgd3, Jan 8, 2016.

  1. dgd3

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    40
    Lots of discussion about when to calibrate but where the data resides hasn't come up. I presume it's in firmware something like EPROM and won't change.
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,257
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    While the P2s do have an embedded processor, the NAZA MC is sold as a stand-alone so 'it' is stored inside the NAZA (MC).
     
  3. dgd3

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    40
    Is the stored data changed only via calibration and/or SW/firmware updates or can other things mess with it? (Battery swaps, power cycling, etc.)
     
  4. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    All the sensor data is continuously updated as well as the satellite and GPS info and location. It's like a mini computer that keeps updating maintaining all the telementry information and altitude and sensor info and feeding it to the main board as well as you input from the Transmitter for its flying instructions. The onboard computer so to speak takes over incase of a loss of signal and then initiates RTH via GPS home location and knowing its location so it gets proper direction back to you al by its itty bitty self. There are hundreds if not thousands of instruction be computed in nano seconds to properly maintain its proper flight and control.
    I suspect that this system gets an erroneous reboot and the information is lost or scrambled and hence it no longer knows where it is or where it's suspose to go and hence a fly a way... Just like on a computer and your on the third page of your document and it reboots.. It goes back to default but all data is lost you were working with. Doesn't happen to us all or often.. But can happen whether it be a power issue or a glitch. Nope can find or don't have any info to back up my suspicions just an ole timer who has been working on computers before we had internet or PC's. Just and educated learned guesstimate.
     
  5. dgd3

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    40
    Yup.

    Though I don't understand why the phantom has to know which way to point via compass for low battery RTH. Seems the GPS should be able to drag it home.
     
  6. dgd3

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    40
    Any comments about GPS dragging the drone back home without using a compass?
     
  7. freak42

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Afaik, GPS only provides a location but not a direction, so the phantom simply doesn't know which way to fly?
     
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,257
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Yup,

    Needs heading information to know which way is forward.
     
  9. dgd3

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    40
    Too bad it can't just test by going a couple meters two directions and then triangulate back to where it should be.
     
  10. dgd3

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    40
    Car GPSs don't seem to know which way they're going until moving. Then once moving they know which way is north or at least which direction they are moving and where they were and need to be.
     
    #10 dgd3, Feb 13, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2016