Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to you transport your transmitter with fpv monitor?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by ebeygin, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. ebeygin

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am puzzled at how to do this elegantly.
    I have an 8" screen attached to the transmitter, and have to unscrew the mounting screw to remove the monitor everytime, but I still have the brackets protruding from the Tx...this doesn't fit into my cutout for the Tx in my case.. I don't wanna remove the brackets every time, so how do you guys do this?

    Thanks
     
    #1 ebeygin, Jul 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2015
  2. Cris A.

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Grand Lake, Colorado
    It helps if you have a bracket that doesn't stick way up off the back of the R/C. I use the Tarot mount that goes on the leash eyelet on the R/C (it provides another eyelet if you want to use a leash/harness). With this on, it still fits the slot in my case, no problem. I joined the three cutouts on the far left of my case and the FPV monitor fits right in.

    http://www.helipal.com/tarot-fpv-monitor-mount-for-transmitter.html
     
  3. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Why not show photos of of the monitor mount you are using and the case.

    I'm using this type monitor bracket and it fits well inside my hard case with the monitor removed of course.
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/..._FPV_Monitor_To_Transmitter_Mount_System.html

    IMG_4647.jpg

    Normally I do not pack the quad or monitor up in my hard case instead I put both in the back set of the car with the hard case in the trunk.
     
  4. Cris A.

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Grand Lake, Colorado
  5. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Personally I didn't really like that Tarot mount and replaced it with the carbon fiber mount I use today. But look at these mounts handled by Shapeways they slip over the antenna and snap onto the RC leg.
    http://www.shapeways.com/search?q=fpv+monitor+mount

    Looking at your case the RC unit with mount attached looks as though it would fit in there unless there is something right in front of the monitor.
     
  6. ebeygin

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Looks like this will work for me.. what kinds of a case do you have? thx!
     
  7. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I have a tradecraft case.
    IMG_4647.jpg
     
  8. go fast

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Miami Fl.
    I use a rave creative mount ( from the UK ) it's really nice and fits in my aluminum case and small backpack.....
     

    Attached Files: