Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to Update Tx-Power with Magic Power v5.0

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by PapaTita, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. PapaTita

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    162
    Edit: For Magic Power v5.0 please look at post #3

    Sorry I created new thread to answer many questions about application windows DJIUpdate.exe, this app used to raise Tx-Power 2.4 GHz up to 27 dBm.

    With new mod 2.4Ghz then video/live streaming so the better, minimize lag and unexpected effects became more far-reaching.
    The application works with inject script (watchlog.sh) into the device and then run in djiled.sh

    SS01.png

    SS02.png SS03.png

    Additional features (DJIUpdate v3.6):
    1. Unlock channel 13
    2. Automatic Channel Scan (13-1)
    3. Change Channel Manually (1-13)
    4. Limit 20dBm (for user signal booster / amp).
    5. Revert Back to CE (restore to default / Stock)
    6. FCC Mode (20 dBm)
    7. Tx-Power selection from 20 dBm up to 27 dBm
    Working with firmware:

    P3S:

    • 1.4.6
    • 1.5.7 (recommended)
    • 1.6.8 (please downgrade to 1.5.7 or upgrade to 1.7.90)
    • 1.7.8x
    • 1.7.90
    P3-4K:
    • 1.5.4
    How to Update:


    Change Channel Manually:


    Download Application: P3S_27dBm_Updater.zip

    ** Specifically for the Phantom 3 Standard / 4K **

    Technical discussions about how the mod please ask to existing topics: Phantom 3 Standard range mod , let's do it together...

    Regards,
    PapaTita
     
    #1 PapaTita, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2016
  2. PapaTita

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    162
    Many thank to bigenius for this FAQ:

    Since there are many posts asking the same thing I wrote a small FAQ. Please correct me if there are any misunderstandings.
    @PapaTita , feel free to put it in one of your opening posts, then we can all help you out to point any questions to that post :)

    1. Will this mod increase the controller range (5.8Ghz)?
      No. This mod will only increase the video stream range (2.4GHz).

    2. Do I need to downgrade (revert to stock/revert to CE) before I upgrade from 3.x/4.x/5.0 to 5.1?
      No.

    3. What's the difference between 5.0 and 5.1?
      5.1 gives smoother video at longer range.

    4. Will I get longer range with 5.1 compared to 5.0?
      No, see question 3.

    5. I'm getting "Access violation" error when I run the program.
      Disable Windows Firewall, Antivirus, or any other firewall or security software. Start the program by right-click and "Run as Administrator".

    6. Sometimes the program will not tell me to proceed to Step 2.
      It will only proceed to Step 2 when necessary.

    7. Is this mod changing the rcS file?
      No. Changing the rcS is dangerous and may potentially brick your RC/AC, even a minor typo in this file may turn it into garbage. The file changed by this mod, djiled.sh, is called from the rcS and even if something goes wrong in djiled.sh, the rcS continues to run and you won't brick anything.
     
    #2 PapaTita, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2016
  3. PapaTita

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    162
    I have a new version with the name Magic Power v5.0.

    Edit: I fix again the script, there are some data that is corrected to be great live streaming and quick respon on blank the screen so in version 5 is no longer talking about dBm

    The big differences from version 3.x is patch in RC and Drone will be active in case of missing signal from RC (boosting to 27 dBm), by this way both RC and Drone no need too high Tx-Power (Default 24 dBm).

    Magic Power v5.3:

    SS02.png

    Other features:

    Change Channel via telnet / mobile:
    watchlog.sh -ch nn [save] ##nn number of channel [1-13]
    watchlog.sh -ch 15 ##activate scan channel
    watchlog.sh -ch 0 ##default mode/disabled scan channel
    watchlog.sh -ch 13 save ##activate permanent channel 13
    Change Tx-Power via telnet / mobile:
    watchlog.sh -dbm nn00 ##nn tx-power number, eq: 1700 for 17 dBm
    watchlog.sh -dbm 2000 ##set tx-power to 20 dBm
    watchlog.sh -dbm 2700 ##set tx-power to 27 dBm
    With or Without Booster:
    watchlog.sh -booster 0 ##set to default
    watchlog.sh -booster N ##set to default
    watchlog.sh -booster 1 ##set RC Tx-Power limit to 20 dBm
    watchlog.sh -booster Y ##set RC Tx-Power limit to 20 dBm
    Download: http://bit.ly/p3magic

    For detail please follow the instructions in this video:


     
    #3 PapaTita, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2016 at 10:25 PM
    razrdan and dimigoul like this.
  4. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    Typo Pap, its "up to 27dbm".
     
    PapaTita likes this.
  5. yo5bdm

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Baia Mare, Romania
    Maybe you should post here the possible problems when using this tutorial, updated, so every user would know the risks
     
  6. PapaTita

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    162
    yes, problems will be put in the second post as above
     
  7. SiB77

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Make this thread sticky! Most important thread ihmo!
     
    Rocky50 likes this.
  8. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    What do you think @dirkclod ? I also think this thread need to be made a sticky.
     
  9. poporange

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Papa Tita, I can patch 1.6.8 fine but your program doesn't work for 1.7.0084. On STEP 1 it will say RC ready and Aircraft ready and stuck there forever.
    Is there any test I can do for you on this version? I won't downgrade back to 1.6.8 and can't downgrade the on 1.5.7

     
  10. firestars

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    25
    I received 'cannot telnet to RC' after step one, so I ran through it again without rebooting it his time and step two sailed through.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. PapaTita

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    162
  12. poporange

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, I've just confirmed that your updater work with 1.7.0082 but not 1.7.0084. Somehow they changed permission / password between these 2 versions.

     
    PapaTita likes this.
  13. firestars

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    25
    Step 1 complete.
    Rebooted
    Step 2 failed.
    Rebooted
    Step 1 complete again
    Step 2 competed
    Finished.

    That's how I got it to work


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. PapaTita

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    162
    step 1 add telnet command, then telnet test performed at step 2. therefore after step 1 should be restart.

    Step 2 fail, maybe you are too fast running step 2 when connection to wifi is happening.

    Sent from my Redmi Note 2 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. Jounis79

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey
    I am thinking to do that mod but can anyone explein to me what those optional is:
    Unlock channel 13
    Automatic Channel Scan (13-1)
     
  16. _Manny_

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    IIRC
    Unlock channel 13:
    Permanent use of channel 13.

    Scan channel 13-1:
    Scans for an empty channel starting at channel 13, ending at 1. Scanned channel depends on the local wifi usage.
     
    PapaTita likes this.
  17. Jounis79

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Witch channel it use if i wont chose any?
    I did the mod, but it wont stay 27db.
    After homepoint record it is 17db.
     
  18. PapaTita

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    162
    Indeed dji-go after homepoint drop to 17 dbm but the script do the loop every 10s to raise to 27 dbm.
    Can you try again to check with iwinfo every 10s?

    ** Assuming you've been through step 2 with success.
     
  19. Jounis79

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes it works perfect.
    Thank you!
     
    PapaTita likes this.
  20. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    41
    I can also confirm that 27 dBm stays put with FW 1.6.80 between restarts and DJI Go app GPS lock (in CE territory) and Home Point recorded. Very good job.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    PapaTita likes this.