Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

HOW TO: Removing/Replacing your WiFi Module

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by DDMSteve, Jul 9, 2014.

  1. DDMSteve

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I have a customer that is needing to replace a WiFi module in his P2V+ so I thought I would do a step by step with photos for future reference.

    Tools needed:
    2mm allen wrench
    #0 Phillips screw driver
    Hair dryer
    Work mat
    Replacement WiFi Module Link for purchase

    UPDATE As more Phantom 2 Vision+'s are reaching customers something that has happened is that the video feed will be lost. If you still have telemetry info like altitude, distance, speed, battery voltage, etc. and if you are still able to take video and pictures but are missing the video feed there is a high chance that you need to replace your WiFi module. Fortunately this is very easy.

    Start by removing the top shell of your Phantom by removing the three allen screws on each arm and the one small phillips head screw. It is best to have a work mat so that screws do not go bouncing away. Note that you can have a screw sucked into the motor from the magnets so use caution!
    [​IMG]

    Unplug the GPS receiver wire from the main circuit board
    [​IMG]

    Here is the WiFi module
    [​IMG]

    Disconnect the two plugs on the side by pinching down on the clip and then a slight pull. Remove the single phillips head screw on the side of the module. Take note of the capacitor directly behind the module, this is important to watch for later
    [​IMG]

    Plugs and screw removed
    [​IMG]

    Carefully lift the WiFi module from the back to front. It is simply 2 sided taped onto the board. This is where heating it slightly with a hair dryer will help reduce the adhesion from the tape. Be careful to NOT damage the capacitor previously noted Remove the last ribbon cable from the rear of the module
    [​IMG]

    Removed and shot of the tape
    [​IMG]

    There are two antennas that are press-fit coaxial type. These will need a firm tug to release:
    [​IMG]

    One of the antennas (just for reference)
    [​IMG]

    All removed!
    [​IMG]

    Hope you enjoyed this. If you have any more requests for other "How-To's" let me know and I will see what I can do.
     
  2. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    Very nice tutorial/process explanation. Why did the guy want to remove the wifi module anyway? Had it failed? And if so, how did he know it was the wifi module that caused the wifi failure?
     
  3. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    The pic of 'one of the antennas'... Is it the small square PCB on the side of the Phantom or the long PCB? Where's the other?
     
  4. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    It is the squarish one on the side. The other is on the other side of the compartment.
     
  5. DDMSteve

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Good question that I should have addressed in the OP. The customer would connect fine to the phantom like normal, but after a few minutes of flying the video feed would be lost. Telemetry would still work, but the screen would be black. After letting the Phantom "cool down" inside for an hour or so, he could get the same process to repeat. Video works fine, then dead after a minute or two. Our rep at DJI stated that it was likely a bad Wifi module. We will be able to confirm this when the customer receives and installs the new module.
     
  6. Skynet1

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks Steve,
    If at all possible, please keep us advised as to the results. This is a valuable piece of info. which later may be used to diagnose similar issues. The results, if positive may then be requested to be placed as a sticky on the board as a possible solution.
     
  7. cayou99

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am the customer Steve is referring to. His explanation about my issues is correct. I had previously stated that reverting back to a previous version of the android app fixed the problem, but by that time the Wifi module had cooled down. Quite a lot of people have experienced this problem and I will be sure to post updates here once I have replaced and tested the new WiFi module. It will take some time as the module was shipped today (10 July) from DDM to Canada.
     
  8. PVFlyer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    125
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Black out FPV screen but still getting telemetry is a well known issue. I suspect this is due to a hardware video decoder chip (residing inside the Wifi module) overheated after streaming FPV for a few minutes. Some reported cases are no FPV all of a sudden after several flights, I suspect such decoder chip toasted after a few flights.

    When I opened my P2V+ cover for heat test a few months ago, I found the Wifi module metal case is fairly hot after power on P2V+ for a few minutes. I bet that's a good sign since a lot of heat radiating out from the chips to metal case (as a big heatsink). I did not further open Wifi module, and unsure about how's or any heatsink inside the Wifi module.
     
  9. cayou99

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Found something weird while replacing the WiFi module. One of the small connector only has a single wire connected to it:
    [​IMG]

    The one posted by Steve (first post, third picture) and the one in this video both have three wires.[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ym8zhPDEsE0[/youtube]

    What I don't understand is why would it work intermitently? Why would it only stop when it's hot? I'm thinking I should replace this wire before doing any testing... Thoughts?
     
  10. Imhenry

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine has only 1 wire too. It would lose fpv in wifi saturated area but otherwise is fine. I'm considering patching up the other 2 wires myself
     
  11. cayou99

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did 10 minutes of testing in the backyard and so far everything works except 30fps at the highest resolution (I get 1 frame every 10 seconds...). I'll do more testing at a longer range and report back.
     
  12. Sebastian

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cayou99 you replace the cable with a 3-wire or replace the wifi transmitter?. I have the same problem with the video feed, black and white but everything else works fine. I have the transmitter with one wire (no 3). What is your advice?

    Thank you
     
  13. cayou99

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used the cable with the single wire. What do you mean by "black and white"?
     
  14. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I just got another new vPlus less then 2 weeks ago and it is the same. No consistent video when set at 640x480 30fps.
     
  15. Sebastian

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    The wifi module was the problem?
     
  16. fudimeister

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the guide!:) i had the same problem with my pv+ no video feed whatsoever but telemetry. Tried evrything (other phone,reset of softwear etc etc..) but nothing worked. Buyed a new wifi module from helipal and replaced it. And now it works:)
    Mine pv+ have had 150 flights before the failure.I opned the old wifi module and i where a little worried about how tight and compact the circut boards are. I suspects that heat can be the reason for this failure. Added some pictures below from the failed wifimodule.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. cayou99

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    So far so good. Seems the WiFi module was the issue. I'll post again if I ever lose the video feed.
     
  18. ATC Drone Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Off Topic: Removing/Replacing your WiFi Module

    I'll apologize in advance, as this post is slightly "OFF TOPIC"

    Situation in a nutshell. . .

    1.) Had a P2V (not Plus+). On it's 100th flight, it flew back to Shenzhen, China (I call this the DJI Diamond Anniversary phenomenon ;) )
    2.) I purchased a crashed P2V+ cheap on eBay (just aircraft, no controller, no WiFi repeater, no batteries, nothing)
    3.) Fixed crashed P2V+
    3a.) Repairs successful (so far). Flies great!

    Question #1: Can the WiFi repeater from my old P2V be associated with the WiFi module in the P2V+?
    Question #2: If YES, what is the procedure? Any links to previous HOWTO's would be sincerely appreciated!

    Thanks in advance!
     
  19. drmgcm69

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cayman Islands
    Looks like this seems to be the ticket to fixing the no live video issue,

    Will have to try this out too!

    Cheers guys

    D
     
  20. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    I've just fixed my black screen of death by doing this - thanks for good info.
    Some more pictures - may be helpful.

    Location

    [​IMG]

    Part Number

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    After working faultlessly since late April - probably about 40 flights total - when turned on a few days ago it had the classic no image on phone - but still had full telemetry and was able to take video and stills and view them after.

    Time to fit - about an hour.
    Trickiest part - levering the old one out.
    The sticky pad holds it very firmly and it is jammed against the Naza and that capacitor, and plenty of cables close to it you do not want to accidentally gouge with a tool.

    Rebinding: don't forget to tap the blue tick to confirm :oops:
    Was having a mild panic when that did not work first time!

    My options were take or send to nearest DJI fixer about 50 miles away, pay for labour if not the part (under warranty?) - or buy part and DIY for cost similar to a new battery.
    Not much in it costwise, provided the job goes smoothly, but at a repair shop you might not get it back for two weeks and there is always the concern of rough treatment in transit.