Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to power an Immersion TX

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Ali in Austria, Sep 1, 2013.

  1. Ali in Austria

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    Help a numpty out here please.

    How do you power an Immersion 5.8GHz 600W TX on a Phantom? The power lead that comes with it suggests a different battery. I have no idea which one. It was supposed to be a complete bundle.
     
  2. MKheng

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    I drilled a hole in my frame and put the wires through and connected them to the auxiliary power lead inside. Works a treat.
     
  3. mikrob

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cut off the connector & replaced it with a connector that plugs into the battery balance lead. Actually I power three things off the balance lead.....video transmitter, low battery alarm, & a LED light (to determine orientation from a distance).
     
  4. jonysan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi
    I use the same Tx, and run it from the auxiliary power cable(red/black) that feeds through the front leftside blanking plug,
    quite a thin guage wire , but so far, so good! and I suppose a 600mw Tx draws more power than a 200mw ?
    Have run this set=up for past four weeks and no problems,
    ps the Tx I have has a Heat Sink and a mini fan, probably necessary when fitted inside an airframe, but outside under the prop airflow maybe the fan is a bit overkill.
     
  5. Ali in Austria

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks fellas.

    I have a lead coming to connect the TX to the Balance Lead. The Upgrade Board doesn't have the spare power leads.
     
  6. tmcgowan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just soldered my on top of the main battery leads.

    Works fine!
     
  7. JDP_TOO_TALL

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running the DJI video transmitter, I have it positioned on the bottom of the phantom and soldered my power cable directly to the board. My question for you guys is, the video Tx as I said is positioned on the bottom behind the Gopro and the antenna is pointed out the rear. I'm having interference issues and I'm certainly not getting the distance I expected to receive. Is there a better way to position the cloverleaf antenna? Thanks. [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk - now Free
     
  8. tmcgowan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have my antenna pointed down, versus back as In your picture.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  9. JDP_TOO_TALL

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    And are you quite happy with the video results you receive? Did you bend the antenna downward or did you purchase a 90 degree elbo?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk - now Free
     
  10. tmcgowan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I'm very happy with the results. I only bent the wire rather than purchasing an elbo connector.




    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD