Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

HOW TO: Optimize Apple device for the best DJI GO app performance

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by msinger, Jul 18, 2015.

  1. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    Here are some tips to help ensure the DJI GO app is able to run as smoothly as possible on your Apple device:

    1) In the iOS Settings, turn on Airplane Mode if you do not need to access the Internet to download maps or stream to YouTube. If you're using a phone, this will also ensure that you're not interrupted by a phone call and/or text message as you're flying.

    Note: For the P3S, you'll need to turn on Wi-Fi after turning on airplane mode -- since turning on airplane mode turns off Wi-Fi..

    AppleEnableAirplaneMode.jpg



    2) In the "General" --> "Usage" section of the iOS Settings, verify that you have at least 1GB of storage space available. If you're low on available storage space, uninstall apps that you're no longer using and/or remove all unneeded photos/videos from your device.

    AppleGeneralUsage.jpg

    AppleGeneralUsageAvailable.jpg


    3) Shut down all apps that you're not actively using. To close running apps, double tap the Apple Home button and touch and flick the apps you'd like to close toward the top of the screen. Keep in mind that apps will always be running in the background after launched until you manually close them or restart your Apple device.



    4) In the "General" --> "Background App Refresh" section of the iOS Settings, turn off the Background App Refresh feature. This will ensure that any running apps are not doing unnecessary work as you're flying in the DJI Pilot application.

    AppleGeneralBackgroundRefresh.jpg

    AppleTurnOffBackgroundRefresh.jpg



    5) In the "General Settings" section of the DJI GO app, enable the "Enable Hardware Decode" setting. This will allow the Apple device's GPU to be used to decode the video stream -- as opposed to the slower method of decoding via software.

    DjiPilotEnableHardwareDecode.jpg


    6) In the "General Settings" section of the DJI GO app, enable the "Cache Map in the Background" setting. This setting must also be enabled before you're able to cache maps if you normally fly when disconnected from the Internet.

    DjiPilotCacheMaps.jpg


    7) In the "General Settings" section of the DJI GO app, set the "Video Cache" setting to "Disabled" if you are not planning on using the DJI GO Director feature to create videos from your recorded video clips.

    DjiPilotDisableVideoCache.jpg


    8) If it's hot outside, it's best to remove your iPad from its case (if it's in one). It'll generate a lot of heat while you're flying, so you want to make sure it's well ventilated.


    Got any other tips to add? Please share them below :)
     
    #1 msinger, Jul 18, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2016
    John1960, iamonly39, Trebla and 45 others like this.
  2. wotblake

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    44
    Closing all apps and restarting the iPad before I leave to go fly is the biggest thing for me. After that I cache the maps I want to use and flip to airplane mode.

    Great guide, btw.
     
    John1960, nickyb, zacksomeone and 3 others like this.
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    Good tip! Thanks for sharing :)
     
  4. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    I do all of this, and my iPad Air 2 has preformed awesomely even in 90ยบ heat, I also close all apps and reboot prior to taking it off the charger. Don't need the director and it just requires processor time to cache the flight.
     
    Oso likes this.
  5. Hessam

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    7
    A while ago on a hot afternoon, live view stream on my iPad air was glitchy and not usable at all. Turning off video cache on pilot app solved the problem!
     
  6. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    The only time my iPad Air 2 has rebooted mid-flight is when I had hardware decode on.
     
    Mike Mauk and Ferdi like this.
  7. j3yps

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Manila, Ph
    Thanks for posting this


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. Hono

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    8
    Although no.7 is a good idea,I am not recommend switch off the video cache,it is because you can keep the Video record when your phantom3 cannot come back or fly away automatically,in order to send it for DJI follow
     
  9. GordonT

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    This is very helpful thanks
     
    koviatt likes this.
  10. Zalama

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone tested latest IOS 9 beta 3 and DJI apps ?
     
  11. duse500

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    30
    Any replies to this?
    Is this statement accurate ?
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    Having just the video is not going to be enough to get a replacement from DJI. They are going to want the flight data. If you're worried about a fly away, then you'll definitely want to pick up a tracker -- like the Trackimo GPS tracker.
     
    #12 msinger, Jul 19, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2015
    Mike Mauk and koviatt like this.
  13. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    1,473
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I thought that prior guidance from DJI reps was to NOT enable hardware decode with A8 processors due to the risk of random reboots. The A8 works well on its own without using the GPU. Are you saying that the guidance is now to use it with A8 processors?
     
    #13 Oso, Jul 19, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2015
  14. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Oso, I am using hardware acceleration as a test, the iPad Air 2 definitely runs cooler with it on. I haven't had any reboots so far but I am only about 9 flights in with it on. If I start getting reboots I will turn it back off. I do all of my practice flights with the prop guards on as I can see the bird out to 2000' so have LOS in case of a reboot.
     
    koviatt and Oso like this.
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    Tahoe Ed said to enable it here.
     
    #15 msinger, Jul 19, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2015
  16. pstockton

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    UK
    I've flown with my iPad Air 2 running iOS 9 betas 1, 2 and 3 - had no problems at all.
     
  17. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    1,473
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Thanks. I checked out the link and it does appear that he means to have it enabled with an A8, but then he says the other processors don't need it enabled which sort of adds confusion.

    I recall seeing that thread a while back, but thought back then that he meant the option was added for the A8 so that it could be disabled to help with the known issue of random reboots. Disabling was a way to avoid that happening. When I read it today it seemed to be the opposite. My bad I guess. I was so sure that A8 was off, A7 and below was on. Sorry.

    In any event, I have flown with it both enabled and disabled using an Air 2, and didn't really notice a difference. No reboots for me, but @Kman has seen at least one reboot. I think I will continue to keep it disabled for now.
     
  18. AerialEyeProductions

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the great list!!
     
  19. jcknows0

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    I flew in 90+ degrees today twice and only had glitches twice so I'm keeping it on from now on (thought I had read mini 2 leave it off). Will have to test out the map cache once I get my mini 2 w 64gb and LTE
     
  20. Zalama

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried with Ipad Air 16 gb wifi/lte and problem was stuttering live viewing on screen. Maybe some setups could help ? Any Ideas ?
     
    #20 Zalama, Jul 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2015