Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional How to obtain Map/ Satellite imagery without WiFi of site 10 miles away?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by MichaelT1960, Apr 19, 2016.

  1. MichaelT1960

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    The other day I took my P3P to our RC Flying site and was disappointed when I did not see any Satellite images of the ground for missions. It actually showed a map of the world!

    Does this come from WiFi and if so how can I get it in my iOS Mini iPad 2? I do not have a smart phone.

    Can I try to locate this area at home and will it cache it for when I go there?

    Thank you,

    Michael
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,525
    Location:
    US
    You'll need to enable the following setting in the DJI GO app:

    DJI-GO-Cache-Map-In-The-Background.PNG


    And, then while connected to the Internet, scroll around on the map in DJI GO at the location and zoom level you plan to use when flying. Like this:

     
  4. MichaelT1960

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK it looks like I have the maps cached for both iOS DJI Go App and Litchi. Hopefully I will get to try it out soon.

    Thank for the help!
     
  5. GaryDZ

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Shelton,CT USA
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but also don't power down the iPad. I think you will lose the cache. (?)
     
  6. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    no. the cache remains for something like 10 days or until the cache is filled, in which case it will remove the oldest cached tiles.
     
  7. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    108
    I use an iPad mini 2 w/wifi & when I cache my map to a different location I don't shut down the GoApp. Because when I reopen it the map reverts back to my home point. I also found that if I click on the small map I cached for the different location to enlarge it BEFORE starting my Phantom it also reverts back to my original home point.

    So, I learned NOT to open the map until the new home point has been established for the new location. It was most annoying when I went 300+ miles away to a friends cottage on a lake & had no wifi.