Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

"How-To" Long exposure picture thread! Plus pictures!

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by Vtecturtle, Jun 11, 2015.

  1. Vtecturtle

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    54
    Post them up! I love awesome night shots!


    Finally got some time to give it a shot today. Nothing epic or nothing amazing in the background, just a little burger kind lol. Straight from the memory card, no editing at all. Very pleased!


    I'll post up a little "HOW-TO" since its like a secret around the forums. People just say " oh out it in manual mode and put exposure to 3 seconds"

    First: yes put it in manual mode(bottom right button in flight screen)

    Second: bring your ISO down to 100 or 200( it keeps the "noise" out your picture, use a higher ISO and you will see what im talking about)

    Third- slide the exposure(the numbers under the ISO section) to 3 seconds or more/less. 3 seconds looks like this ---> 3" so it's more to the right.


    Fourth- go to the advance settings and turn off your lights. With these shots the red lights will show up in your pictures.


    Fifth-swipe ur screen(up, down, left, or right, either one works) to clear it so it's blank and you can focus on the picture.

    Sixth- take a picture! It's going to click and spin for how ever long your exposure was set to. Now not sure if it happens to every one but my status bar turns red and says no signal for a quick second, don't panic! Lol

    Seventh- Post it up!!! First shot or 100th shot, show them off! Pretty awesome to see what the outcome is.

    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1434076854.037770.jpg
     
    #1 Vtecturtle, Jun 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2015
    LosDosMonitos, BigAl07, Drue and 12 others like this.
  2. JdotB

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
    How'd you do that?
     
  3. Vtecturtle

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    54
    First: yes put it in manual mode(bottom right button in flight screen)

    Second: bring your ISO down to 100 or 200( it keeps the "noise" out your picture, use a higher ISO and you will see what im talking about)

    Third- slide the exposure(the numbers under the ISO section) to 3 seconds or more/less. 3 seconds looks like this ---> 3" so it's more to the right.


    Fourth- go to the advance settings and turn off your lights. With these shots the red lights will show up in your pictures.


    Fifth-swipe ur screen(up, down, left, or right, either one works) to clear it so it's blank and you can focus on the picture.

    Sixth- take a picture! It's going to click and spin for how ever long your exposure was set to. Now not sure if it happens to every one but my status bar turns red and says no signal for a quick second, don't panic! Lol

    Seventh- Post it up!!! First shot or 100th shot, show them off! Pretty awesome to see what the outcome is.
     
    #3 Vtecturtle, Jun 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2015
    HueJorgan, Trumple, JdotB and 2 others like this.
  4. Ari

    Ari

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    NYC
    I cant find the turn lights off. Tired to find this in the manual as well... Are you running 1.0.10. Could the professional have this feature while the advanced doesnt?
     
  5. Zlots

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
  6. Ari

    Ari

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    NYC
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    3,466
    It's here ... same for both models
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Zlots

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Definitely need to turn the lights off or you'll get some glow. The switch only turns off the front red lights. I thought about masking off the rear lights with some tape too.

     
  9. Ari

    Ari

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    NYC
    What the heck, my app doesn't look like that! What version are you running?
     
  10. Zlots

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    I'm running iOS on an iPad. Maybe android version is different?

     
  11. Ari

    Ari

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    NYC
    Andriod must be different... Dam
     
  12. Louis_Eng

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    South Africa
    Android looks like that, if you loaded from dji site, if you loaded from playstore its the wrong one with missing functions
     
    Ari likes this.
  13. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Im running android and I have the option to turn them off.

    Here's the link for the app if you need it - http://m.dji.net/djipilot
     
    Ari and ctp like this.
  14. TAZ

    TAZ

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    116
    Took this a couple weeks ago:

    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1434093150.793452.jpg

    This was my camera settings:

    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1434093187.701964.jpg
     
  15. peter west nz

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    28
    It's a pity they don't just turn the lights off automatically whenever a pic is being taken. It can't be very difficult in software.
     
    mal is up and taroh like this.
  16. TonG

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm missing something: shoot in DNG! Especially with low light pictures you can use the advantages of the DNG format as surpressing the overblown areas and and get more detail out of the deep shadow parts.
     
  17. clkilljoy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    36
    Wow! Good info. I love this forum. So much good stuff to read and find out about the P3p. Wish I would have joined with my P2. Great stuff.
     
  18. Ari

    Ari

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    NYC
    I wonder if the app will stop crashing mid flight all the time now. Crazy that the DJI vs play store apps are different
     
    Coldfire likes this.
  19. Ari

    Ari

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    NYC
    Amazed how little noise there is in your picture. Just after take off my drone tends to drift ever so slightly. I wonder if it will hold a solid position when it has more satellites higher up. I always take off on my deck with not the best view of the sky....
     
  20. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    3,466
    Just back from a trip to the city so I packed the P3.
    Here's a panorama stitched from 13 images.
    [​IMG]