How to know if Phantom is upgraded?

Reaction score
Hello Gurus,

Newbie here. I purchased a plain Phantom from Amazon on their gold box sale for $379. There's nothing in the description that says the the Phantom is the latest one with the upgraded/improved bits. Is there any way to know based on the serial number or anything? I don't know whether Amazon had a load of these sitting around all year and discounted them or what. I've looked at the outside of the box but there's nothing there to indicate any updates...

Thanks for your help!

I thought the $379 lightning deals on amazon were not for the 1.1.1 (updated) phantoms. I could be wrong or they could make a mistake and send a new one.

Thanks Ksc. That's what I suspected after I ordered it. That's OK though as I can return it. I have an updated Phantom on the way with the free exctra battery.

I bought the same lightning deal and I got the 1.2.1 version initially. I called up customer service and let them know they sent me an "outdated" unit and they overnighted me a version 1.1.1 that showed up about 16 hours later.... so once again Amazon shows extraordinary customer service. It was fun explaining how version 1.1.1 is a newer version of the unit then 1.2.1. They rep was totally confused, as he should be I suppose, who labels 1.1.1 as an update to 1.2.1 anyway?

If you already have another inbound so be it but you will be saving $75 bucks or more returning the Amazon one for the newer version and buying your own battery. That's 3 more batteries.

Hello,