Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3 Firmware HOW TO: Install Phantom 3 firmware (if using DJI Pilot)

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by msinger, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,975
    Likes Received:
    5,585
    Location:
    US
    Follow these steps to ensure a successful firmware installation on your Phantom 3:

    1) Before installing a new firmware update, check this forum and the DJI forum to see if others are having any trouble after installing the update. If a few days have passed and nothing major has been reported, then it's a usually a good sign that the update is safe to install. Some people enjoy installing the latest and greatest right away, so let those people test the updates if you want to play it safe.

    Note: It's not possible to downgrade to an older firmware version. If you upgrade and experience any issues, you'll have to wait until DJI releases another firmware update.



    2)
    Download the latest firmware from DJI's website.

    Note: The Phantom Professional and Phantom Advanced use different firmware.
    Note: The firmware must be placed on the root level of your memory card.

    Review the release notes so you understand what was changed and you're aware of any special installation instructions:

    Phantom Advanced Release Notes: http://download.dji-innovations.com/downloads/phantom_3/en/Phantom_3_Advanced_Release_Note_en.pdf
    Phantom Professional Release Notes: http://download.dji-innovations.com...en/Phantom_3_Professional_Release_Note_en.pdf



    3) Install the firmware. Detailed installation steps are covered in the following video:



    IMPORTANT: Always remove the gimbal lock before turning on your Phantom.

    As described above, the firmware is easiest to install with a memory card adapter. Here's an inexpensive memory card adapter that works very well:

    If you do not have a memory card adapter, follow these tips to install the firmware using the USB cable that came with your Phantom:

    This is how I do My FIRMWARE photos | DJI Phantom Forum

    Note: If the firmware update fails, here are some things to try:
    DJI Phantom 3 Advance & Professional Firmware Update- How To & Troubleshooting V1.4 - RC Groups



    4) Keep the current firmware on the root of your memory card. This will allow the DJI Pilot application to install firmware updates on your batteries as needed.



    5) Open the DJI Pilot application and verify that all of your previous settings are still set. You'll want to do this while your Phantom is turned on (with the props off) and your remote controller is connected to the DJI Pilot application via your mobile device. This is important since many of the settings are saved on the Phantom itself.



    6) Do the following calibrations from the DJI Pilot application:

    - Calibrate the IMU (even if it's not required)

    Note: See this video for important IMU calibration tips.

    - Calibrate the gimbal
    - Calibrate the remote controller (RC)
    - Calibrate the compass
     
    #1 msinger, Jun 16, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2015
  2. Nannerz

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. Virgin Islands
    remove the gimbal lock before updating.
     
    Mike Mauk and msinger like this.
  3. Mike Mauk

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Brewster,WA
    THANKS SO MUCH FOR THIS!!!
     
  4. Toddzilla

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Central VIRGINIA
    Msinger:
    ?Question ?
    If one has never upgraded the P3P from FW 1.1.9, and if DJI finally comes out with a (hopefully) bug-free FW version to replace the "reputedly buggy" FW 1.2.6, can one simply upgrade in one step to the newest FW version, or will one have to upgrade sequentially through the "bad" version(s) to get to the newest version (ie. a one step upgrade)?
     
  5. Toddzilla

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Central VIRGINIA
    Edit:

    If one has never upgraded the P3P from FW 1.1.9, and if DJI finally comes out with a (hopefully) bug-free FW version to replace the "reputedly buggy" FW 1.2.6, can one simply upgrade in one step to the newest FW version, or will one have to upgrade sequentially through the "bad" version(s) to get to the newest version (ie. a 2-step upgrade OR can it be done in 1 step)?
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,975
    Likes Received:
    5,585
    Location:
    US
    Toddzilla, you should be able to just install the latest version (whenever you decide to upgrade). There is no need to install all newer firmware releases in order.
     
  7. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    After I updated, I am getting a constant beep. When I run the app, I get the gimbal cannot receive mc data and camera requires upgrade notifications. Any thoughts on this?
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,975
    Likes Received:
    5,585
    Location:
    US
    What did you see in the TXT file that was created on your memory card?
     
  9. Jonathan M Halley

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin
    Upgrading ...

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin
    Upgrading ...

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2015.07.29 18:30:45 =====================
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2015.07.29 18:33:17 =====================
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:11 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2015.07.29 19:20:10 =====================
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin
    Upgrading ...

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2015.07.29 19:52:02 =====================
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin
    Upgrading ...

    ========== 2015.07.29 20:35:16 =====================
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2015.07.29 20:36:14 =====================
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.02.0006.bin
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,975
    Likes Received:
    5,585
    Location:
    US
  11. dguth66

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Nova Scotia Canada
    Also ... if your firmware happens to be really old ... like before version 1.4 ... it IS NOT advisable to jump to the newest ... best to go to version 1.4 first, then go for newest ... at least as it stands now.
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,975
    Likes Received:
    5,585
    Location:
    US
    Holy thread revival, Batman :)

    For anyone else who stumbles upon this thread, you should be following these instructions instead. DJI Pilot is no longer being used.
     
  13. dguth66

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Nova Scotia Canada
    It was never used anyway to update the Phantom 3 ...but Yea you are right ... I should have looked at the date, time for bed :)
     
  14. franstob

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    May I know why must I remove the gimbal lock? Please be advised. Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,975
    Likes Received:
    5,585
    Location:
    US
    You should never power on your Phantom with the gimbal lock attached since the gimbal moves when the Phantom is powered on.
     
  16. franstob

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the info