Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to get new onboard WIFI module to talk to range extender?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by npalen, Mar 18, 2016.

  1. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    Today I replaced the WIFI module onboard my PV2+ and having trouble getting it to talk to the range extender.
    I replaced the module as was not able to get video feed to the iphone even though telemetry was working fine. I'm able to connect between the WIFI extender and the iphone but get the "Connection to phantom failed" message when trying to connect to the camera and telemetry with the DJI VISION app. (Not getting telemetry or video feed)
    Is there a binding process between the onboard WIFI module and the range extender? How does the range extender recognize the new WIFI module?
    Thanks in advance for any help you can give this old man.
     
  2. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
  3. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    Been trying to rebind but doesn't seem to be working. Will try it some more.
    Thanks for the feedback.
     
  4. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    Was able to rebind but still no FPV video feedback even with new WIFI module. Getting all flight info and able to take pics and video but no video feed. Same as with original WIFI module.
     
  5. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Which iPhone?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    This is a known issue with the app itself. What phone do you have, what IOS version, and which version of the Vision app are you running?
     
  7. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    The IOS and app have both been recently updated to the latest versions. (iphone 5S)
    Same issue with my Samsung Galaxy Tab4.
    Any other thoughts? Sure need some ideas.
     
    #7 npalen, Mar 19, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2016
  8. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Is the WiFi module new? Many of these were replaced by DJI due to an overheating issue. Since you replaced yours, I assumed it was new. It may be the app, there are many folks with this unresolved issue. Two things. One, does it behave this way when everything is first powered on? Do you get any video feed at all? Second, try setting the feed frame rate to 15 FPS, and see what happens.
     
  9. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    Yes, it's a new module. It misbehaves this way when first powered on, no video at all. Tried various frame rates.
    A couple weeks ago I put the bird in the freezer for a couple hours and after taking it out, I had good video feed until the bird warmed up after a few minutes.
    I would be pleasantly surprised if this was an app/mobile device issue. Sure would like to find out.
    I did delete the DJI VISION app and reinstalled on iphone 5S (recently updated IOS). Noticed after that I was getting full GROUND STATION maps which was sketchy at best on "old" app.

    Bird in Freezer thread:
    Wifi Module--Need Some Electronics Expertise
     
  10. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    I think it may still be the module, since it works when cold.
     
  11. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    I would think that installing the new (sealed bag) wifi module would have ruled out the old module but can't be 100 percent sure.. I wonder if it could possibly be the wifi expander not being up to handling the video feed even though it seems to handle all the rest of the data.
    Also might be a problem in the connections between the camera and the onboard wifi. The video is, however, being recorded okay by the SD card. Bit of a guessing game not knowing how it all works.
     
    #11 npalen, Mar 19, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2016
  12. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    If I may ask, where did you buy the module?
     
  13. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
  14. Dronecrasher

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    did u scan the code on the drone box?
     
  15. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    No because the code on the box matches the old wifi module. I keyed the code from the newly installed wifi into the app when binding it to the wifi extender so they could "talk" to each other. When I removed the new wifi module and replaced it with the old I had to key in the old code which would be the same as scanning it on the box.
    With that said, my understanding is that the CAMERA doesn't need to be bound with the wifi module since they are hard wired.
     
    #15 npalen, Mar 20, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2016
  16. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    I assumed that the wifi module was at fault due to all the discussions about them overheating and eventually failing. I had disassembled the old module in order to apply heat transfer compound as recommended in several discussions here on the forum. I don't recall seeing any evidence of any component overheating during this process.
     
  17. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    You may not see anything. The problem in some cases was lack of adequate thermal compound, and the component shutting down once it was operating outside its temp range.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. Dronecrasher

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    i did the same eventually i had to get a hold of dji and they gave me a new code for my drone and it all worked
    might not be the same for you
    just a thought i had thrown out the box
    its been a while but did u go into the app look to see if ur camera and naza info was on the build tab i think its
    been a while my camera info would show up but no naza info
    srry i couldnt help
     
  19. Dronecrasher

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    i also keyed in the old code many times it always said binding ok the numbers came up all good but nope it didnt work
     
  20. Dronecrasher

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    dji ask for serial # on drone and serial # on new repeater and sent me a new QR code