Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to fly by the seat of your pants?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Chuck Young, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    So I was wondering if there is a way to turn on the remote and P3 and immediately take off and fly manually. Kind of like you do with a Hubsan or similar unit? It would be nice to have a bit of gyro-stabilization and maybe a little height help.
     
  2. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    its called atti mode. it's in the manual
     
    Alex_ likes this.
  3. suck it up

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    72
    This
     
  4. Jeff48920

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Pomona, IL
    Yes that ^
    ..... Make sure you enable Multiple Flight Mode in the app before flipping the switch
     
  5. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    Saw that shi* coming from a mile away, Thanks dudes.
     
  6. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    you need to learn it. it will save you from the flyway that can occur in GPS mode
     
  7. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Pity it doesn't have manual mode like the p2
     
    keith slagle, cmyk22 and Jeff48920 like this.
  8. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    I guess all the times I have tried atti mode indoors (read no GPS lock at all) it has not been in Multiple Flight mode. And speaking of which, seems like the programmable buttons changed around the other day... humm.
     
  9. witold

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    102
    Wrong.

    ATTI is still far from Manual mode. ATTI is like an intermediate step between GPS and Manual.

    On Phantom 3s, there no longer is the option to fly manual. On P1 and P2, we had all 3 modes, GPS, ATTI, and Manual. There are videos out there of people flying Manual and doing flips and rolls. Or very quick descents. Example;

     
    sergekouper and StumbleBee like this.
  10. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    It's as close as you are going to get on the P3.....chief

    "It would be nice to have a bit of gyro-stabilization and maybe a little height help."

    atti mode is all she's got captain.
     
    sergekouper and Fplvert like this.
  11. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192

    OK, so I have the P3 on the table and have the Multiple flight mode enabled and switch in atti, P3 says it is in atti. I have a "compass error, please move the aircraft or calibrate the compass"
    No engine start on CSC instead I get "compass error, calibration required"

    Any way around this problem, well besides following the instructions? After getting leaving the Navy I vowed not to follow instructions anymore. lol

    I have done this many times before and have always resorted to taking the bird out in the parking lot and waiting for a GPS lock. There must be a way around it though.
     
  12. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    it's because it's on your table. go outside in the yard and see. If the mod value is not around 1500, do a calibration. When it sit my phantom on my center island in the kitchen, compass goes haywire.

    parking lots have rebar. Try to calibrate over soil.
     
  13. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    No other way to work around the error?
     
  14. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    If the compass is way off, then no. You'll have to calibrate it. I wouldn't be working around compass errors. There's a reason it won't let you start. what does mod value say?
     
  15. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    Finally reset a couple times and moved the bird around the table, now mod is running 1100-1200.

    IMU error now, still no start.
     
  16. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    Error says "IMU is initializing, Do not move aircraft until complete."
     
  17. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    that's why it won't initialize. Mod value is off. It will take off on you if you don't fix it.
     
  18. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    I am trying to fly indoors so it is guaranteed not to fly to far, well unless it can find the exit. lol
     
    acherman and sergekouper like this.
  19. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    I think that you need to get a good compass reading outside and then you can bring it indoors and put it in atti mode. Why don't you try turning everything off and then booting the remote in atti mode on the switch.
     
  20. sergekouper

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    London UK
    Atti is as close to GPS as it can be, and far far away from manual, private... :)
    in manual its almost impossible to even stay in the air without a huge experience, you have to counterbalance every move of a stick, and a phantom doesn't glide, it's a brick. (a plastic brick but brick anyway):)
     
    #20 sergekouper, Sep 3, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2015