Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to correctly import-edit-export 4k footage in Premiere Pro

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by lumbra9foto, May 13, 2016.

  1. lumbra9foto

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mexico
    Hi guys!! the thing here is that I want to be a contributor in videoblocks and finally started to record in 4K but the problem was after that: in the computer.

    You see I use adobe premiere pro but don't know how to import the files correctly, the edition part its not that much of a problem but the export part its a pain in the a**.

    So if anyone is contributing to videoblocks or knows how to correctly import and export 4K fottage I'll be pretty grateful!!!
     
  2. Digdat0

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    439
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    so i use Premiere Pro CC 2015 .. and by no means an expert (I suck actually). I don't do anything special to import the files, I use the Assembly area to browse to my files and pick them, it imports into the program. I then move into my timeline and do my work.

    When i export, I've been using the "H.264 format" with the preset of "YouTube 2160p 4k". It looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    This seems to work quite well and YouTube takes it without issue. I dont use VideoBlocks., but their site says that "The majority of our video clips are available in full HD (1920x1080) at 29.97 fps" .. so i assume as long as you hit that mark, you should be fine (but i think thats only HD, not 4k). Here's the link:
    What are the specifications of your vide...

    I'm not sure what version of Premiere you use, but it should have some export presets you can chose from.

    Hope this helps, i'm totally a Premier noob and am sure others are more knowledgeable. Here's one I uploaded yesterday using these settings, it seems to look okay on Youtube.

     
    #2 Digdat0, May 13, 2016
    Last edited: May 13, 2016
  3. Michel Rivet

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
    1st thing to do when you record video if in 4K choose the max exemple 4k/24 RAW then it will be easier to edit in premiere pro do not use JPG
     
  4. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    Have a look at this - Its a superb How to using Adobe Premier !! -
     
    Partx and Digdat0 like this.
  5. cr8it

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi - I am trying to edit Phantom 4 video in Adobe Premier too. My problem is different, however. My videos load into premier and start to play in Premier. When I watch for a bit suddenly, the video starts flickering and slowing down so that it is not running properly. Anyone have any hints?
     
  6. mnewxcv

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    65
    that is because to playback smoothly you need a very fast computer and graphics card. In order to edit smoothly without a high end computer, set the preview window to 1/2 or 1/4 (where it says full) and it will lower playback resolution so that it is smooth. The exported file will still be 4k, but during playback it will render a lower resolution so that your computer can manage.
     
    jc15 likes this.
  7. Targ35

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have a pretty High end computer

    i7 6700K 4.3g
    32Gb DDR4
    1070 8g EVGA Nvidia
    SSD 500gb Boot o/s
    SSD 256gb Premiere Pro and Scratch and cache media
    4k Samsung Monitor
    Asus 170 serries Mobo

    I think it should be ok

    CPU sitts aroun 16% during playback
    Memory is only 5% used
    HDD/SSD activity is 0%

    still stutters after a few seconds

    Files are UHD 4K 3840@30fps 60MBPS
     
  8. Geblo

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    11
    Check the settings for your video card in premiere to make sure mercury rendering engine uses hardware acceleration.
     
    Digdat0 likes this.
  9. misterCB

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
    Editing in 4k isn't suggested, even with a "high end" PC, as you've noticed. I would suggest researching how to ingest the video into Premiere as a low res/low bitrate "proxy". You can edit the ingest settings to automatically create proxy files when you create the new project.. That way it jogs/scrubs much smoother during editing using the proxy files, and then when you export it uses the higher res originals.

    Work offline using proxy media
     
    #9 misterCB, Jan 2, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017