Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plus ?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by CameraGuy, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. CameraGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm enjoying my Phantom 2 with the H3 3D gimbal. I bought this kit because I wanted to use the 4K camera - the Go Pro 4.

    I have changed the TX/RX to DJI's 5.8. I am usin the 2.4GHZ of the GoPro to talk to my iPad Mini.

    I have two questions,

    1. How do I get the data information to me on the ground, altitude, location, etc.
    2. There are 3 wires coming from under my Phantom. What are they for?

    Thanks

    Darren
     
  2. pilotbcm20

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu

    This is what you need if you want data displayed on your screen.

    http://www.dji.com/product/iosd-mini

    Those 3 wires are for fpv. If you buy the DJI FPV hub (the circuit board looking thing with all the wires connected to it) then you dont need that wire. The hub just lets you connect everything that's DJI brand without soldering.

    Here are pics of my setup. Very easy to setup especially with the FPV hub.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. AerialCinemaGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu

    DO NOT USE THE WIFI ON THE GOPRO WITH A P2, YOU WILL HAVE A FLYAWAY
     
  4. CameraGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu

    You may have missed the part of my post that said I have converted the P2 to a 5.8Ghz controlled bird.

    I know not to use 2 2.4GHZ devices together.

    Thanks though, well intentioned I'm sure.

    Darren
     
  5. CameraGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu

    So If I Buy:

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1 ... cable.html

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1 ... ni_on.html

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/9 ... o_kit.html

    And go back to the 2.4Ghz radio to control the Phantom, I will have everything I need to do true FPV?

    If so, that's affordable. Please confirm I am right about this if you can.

    Darren
     
  6. pilotbcm20

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu


    You are right! That's exactly what I have. All you need is a screen and your good to go
     
  7. CameraGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu

    As a screen, does an iPad work, or does it have to be a dedicated monitor. I have a 7 inch I use in my pro video work, I guess I can use it.

    Darren
     
  8. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu

    Dedicated. iPad only has video output afaik, no input.
    With that setup you can use virtually any monitor.
     
  9. CameraGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu

    Everything has been ordered. I await the courier Friday or Monday.

    Thanks for your help

    Darren
     
  10. pitcher8811

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu

    A little late, but it turns out that if you make the radio conversion like you have, you can use the 2.4ghz Wi-Fi module and range extender for the P2V+ along with the Vision app. Besides those two parts, all you would need is a P2V+ cable pack. Connect the Wi-Fi module to the CAM port with the 6 pin cable from the pack, bind the range extender and Wi-Fi module, and you can get video, telemetry, and GPS waypoints in the Vision app. It saves weight and provides for a much cleaner install. I think it also comes out cheaper in the end, too.

    It won't work for iOS devices, but it will on any Android device.
     
  11. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Re: How to convert a Phantom 2 to have FPV and data of a Plu

    +1
    You will also need the wifi flat antennas that connect to the wifi module.
    And it will work with IOS minus the telemetry. To get FPV, swipe from FPV to Ground station and back.