Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

how to bin question

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by DrewFlies, May 28, 2015.

  1. DrewFlies

    DrewFlies Guest

    I used my P3P a week ago. Downloaded bin placed on memory card. Stuck it in the quad waited for all the bell chimes and whistles. Flew it about 8 times (10 minutes each flight) no problem. Now I come back a week later and see there is a new update and people have had errors with updating.

    A lot of thread about dont bin the bin. Bin the root? What does that mean. Any steps or advice is appreicated. I also have a new battery on the way and I noticed a messege stating that the firmware matches the battery or something like that? Please help
     
  2. Skyy

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    38
    Do it as you've always done. Normal firmware update and it works smoothly. No problems what so ever here. No need to update RC though.
     
  3. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,386
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Root directory or root folder is the very top folder in the hierarchy. Everything under that is a sub folder of the root folder.

    Root
    |
    > MyVideos
    |
    > MyPhotos

    etc.

    The Phantom and tx only looks at the top most folder in order to find the .bin file. DJI compressed ("zips) several files into one .zip file. The only one of these files that need to be placed in the root folder is the one that ends with the extension, .bin.

    Another file included are the directions. This file explains how to install the new firmware.
     
    bbfpv likes this.
  4. DrewFlies

    DrewFlies Guest


    Do I have to do an update with the new battery coming in?
    Also everytime I transfer files off my memory card and onto my imac. I then go to disk utility and completely erase the memory card. Not sure if this will have effect on the .bin. I only do this because if I were to drag files off memory card into trash, it erases but still will be on the memory card. For instance, 32 gb memory card witb 8gb video files. If I drag the 8gb files and drop it into trash. It deletes them and I can no longer see them on memory card. But, my memory card will show only 24gb available. Very strange and I have been dealing with this for years. My only method is to go to disk utility and completely erase memory card which whips it clean. Also, after updating my bird and r/c I completely whipped the memory card so there was nothing on the card. I flown it a good 10 times like this and no problem. Is that a problem? I use several memory cards not sure if I should bin each one and when I binned there was no root folder as you mentioned because I completely erased memory card through disk utility.
     
  5. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,845
    Likes Received:
    655
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Format the card from the app?
     
  6. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Batteries will be updated if there is a new firmware file on the sd card, so yeah just leave the .bin file there if you have new batteries coming in.
    Regarding formatting the disk every time. When you move something to the trash, you have to empty the trash for the file to be permanently removed from the card. Some also format every time, others don't. Argument being that it creates more strain on the card and it's not entirely necessary to do it so frequently.
     
  7. DrewFlies

    DrewFlies Guest

    Thankyou. So since I whipped the memory card and nothing is on it. Not even a root folder as mentioned. Whats my steps into updating firmware to 1.1.9?
    How can I create a root folder if there is nothing on memory card.
    I also use the same memory cards for my gopro so right now on my memory cards it shows

    DCIM > 100GoPro

    Get_Started_with_GoPro.url

    MISC > Card and version.txt

    Do I need to bin each memory card?
     
  8. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    The .bin file goes in the place where all other folders originate from.
    This may help, courtesy of Wikipedia:

     
  9. Stile2112

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Union City, California
  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,705
    Likes Received:
    3,427
    You seem confused about this.
    Do not create a folder for root.
    If you put in in any folder your Phantom will not read it.
    If you just put the .bin file on the card outside all folders .. it is in the root directory.

    No .. you only need to place the .bin file on the card you use to update your Phantom and after updating, you can safely delete it.
     
  11. Dadcat

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Portland Area, Oregon
    The update instructions recommend leaving the bin file on the card so your smart batteries can get updated. With just one battery you need to leave it on the card for at least one power cycle. Apparently the battery doesn't update at the same time as the firmware.

    Once we get more batteries you'll need to think about how all of them get their updates.

    There's no harm in leaving the update file on the card. You can safely remove the .txt file that says the update is successful. Definitely should delete all those files before the next update in what - 2 weeks?
     
    #12 Dadcat, May 28, 2015
    Last edited: May 28, 2015
  12. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    God willing.
     
  13. DrewFlies

    DrewFlies Guest

    See this is why I ask. I seem to always get opposite answers here on the forum. Looking for some logic as to why to keep or why to remove. This seems to be a more detailed response. so basically the root is carrying my DCIM and MISC?
     
  14. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    So the root folder is the first folder that is media100? Okay now i got it!
    You put the bin in the first folder.
    But that's also sometimes called a directory?
    I also keep trying to load the bin into windows notepad to save it in the first folder and its not working?
    What's an SD disk? Mine says sata drive?

    I'm just going to have geek squad do it.
     
  15. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I can't tell if you're being serious.
     
  16. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    Scary huh?
     
  17. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    No, seriously, are those real questions? I'd be happy to answer them for free.
     
  18. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    No ....
    But go ahead and explain it's good practice....
     
  19. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,705
    Likes Received:
    3,427
    Forget folders.
    Don't try to put the .bin file in any folder.
    Just put it on the SD card so it isn't in any folder ... then it will be in what's called the root directory.