How the heck did I get so far?!?!

Reaction score
I've just upgraded from an AVL58 to an Immersionrc 600mw.
On my first test flight with it, I put my FPVLR combo on - A 5 Coil Helical on the receiver, and a (4 leaf?) on the quad.
It was good to about 300m, and started to struggle beyond about 600m. I managed to drag a pretty sketchy 1.2kms from it. My previous best on the AVL58 was a good clean image at 1.16kms

Tonight I started investigating how to change channels on the Immersion in case it was a bad combination of channels, and while I was doing that I started playing with my quite significant collection of antennae I've amassed trying to fix the range problems I've had. I've got Blue-Beam Ultras, FPVLR's, Fat Shark Spironets, the original white dome ones, and even the original black "stick" style.
That was when I found that NONE of the antennae I'd tried on the quad yesterday, have the correct fitting for the Immersionrc. They are all RP-SMA (with the hole in the middle), and so is the socket on the Immersionrc.
So somehow I got 1.2kms from an antenna that was probably only making good connection on the outside of the plug, and next to nothing on the centre of the plug. That's bloody incredible!!! And I'm such a bloody idiot LOL.

How did I get video feed, even quite sketchy feed, at that distance with the wrong antenna connection?
And more to the point, will I have done any damage?

I hope the Blue-Beam Ultra is as good as it's reported to be, because that's my only antenna set that has the correct connection for the immersionrc plug. Until I get adaptors for the others, the BB Air Screw is the only one that fits on the quad. All the others still fit on the receiver, so I'll try the BB AirScrew with the Matching Mad Mushroom and the 5 Coil Helical from FPVLR working in Tandem on the receiver, and give it a go tomorrow. If I can get that kind of range with the wrong fitting, it should be brilliant with an antenna with the right fitting.